unbekannter Gast

Mont St-Michel#

Mont St-Michel
Mont St-Michel, August 2014, © Gerhard Huber

Originally, the granite rock of Mont St. Michel, with a diameter of 300 m, was surrounded by a small wood until in 709 it was flooded by storm surge and became an island. A dam erected in 1877 contributed to the renewed silting. Therefore from 2005 on the dredging of the bay was undertaken, also the removal of the dam and the construction of a new bridge to pass its unique, flood-related insularity back to the rock. Visitors have to park their cars 3km away. The rest of the distance is covered by shuttle buses or a 45-minute walk.
Ursprünglich stand der 300 m durchmessende Granitfelsen des Mont St. Michel in einem kleinen Wäldchen, bevor er im Jahr 709 durch eine Sturmflut zur Insel wurde. Ein 1877 errichteter Damm trug zur neuerlichen Verlandung bei. Daher begann man ab 2005 mit der Ausbaggerung der Bucht, dem Abtragen des Dammes und dem Bau einer neuen Brücke, um dem Felsen seine einmalige, flutbedingte Insellage zurückzugeben. Besucher müssen ihre Autos 3 km vor dem Klosterfelsen parken. Den Rest der Strecke legt man mit Shuttlebussen oder einer dreiviertelstündigen Wanderung zurück.