!!!Mauritius: Government
||Country name|''conventional long form'': Republic of Mauritius \\ ''conventional short form'': Mauritius \\ ''local long form'': Republic of Mauritius \\ ''local short form'': Mauritius \\  \\ ''__note__'': island named after Prince Maurice VAN NASSAU, stadtholder of the Dutch Republic, in 1598 \\ 
||Government type|parliamentary republic
||Capital|Port Louis[{GoogleMap location='Port Louis' zoom='6'}] \\ ''geographic coordinates'': 20 09 S, 57 29 E \\ ''time difference'': UTC+4 (9 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time) \\ 
||Administrative divisions|9 districts and 3 dependencies*; Agalega Islands*, Black River, Cargados Carajos Shoals*, Flacq, Grand Port, Moka, Pamplemousses, Plaines Wilhems, Port Louis, Riviere du Rempart, Rodrigues*, Savanne
||Independence|12 March 1968 (from the UK)
||National holiday|Independence Day, 12 March (1968); note - also became Republic Day (1992)
||Constitution|several previous; latest adopted 12 March 1968; amended many times, last in 2015 (2016)
||Legal system|civil legal system based on French civil law with some elements of English common law
||International law organization participation|accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction with reservations; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
||Citizenship|''citizenship by birth'': yes \\ ''citizenship by descent'': yes \\ ''dual citizenship recognized'': yes \\ ''residency requirement for naturalization'': 5 out of the previous 7 years including the last 12 months \\ 
||Suffrage|18 years of age; universal
||Executive branch|''chief of state'': President Ameenah GURIB-FAKIM (since 5 June 2015); Vice President Paramaslyum (aka Barlen) Pillay VYAPOORY (since 4 April 2016) \\ ''head of government'': Prime Minister Sir Anerood JUGNAUTH (since 17 December 2014) \\ ''cabinet'': Cabinet of Ministers (Council of Ministers) appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister \\ ''elections/appointments'': president and vice president indirectly elected by the National Assembly for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held on 4 June 2015 (next to be held in 2020); prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the president, responsible to the National Assembly \\ ''election results'': Ameenah GURIB-FAKIM (independent) elected president by the National Assembly - unanimous vote \\ 
||Legislative branch|''description'': unicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (70 seats maximum; 62 members directly elected in single- and multi-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and up to 8 seats allocated to non-elected party candidates by the Electoral Commissioner's Office to ensure fair and adequate representation of each community and party in the Assembly, as outlined in the Constitution; members serve 5-year terms) \\ ''elections'': last held on 10 December 2014 (next to be held by 2019); note - the National Assembly was dissolved on 6 October 2014, resulting in early elections \\ ''election results'': percent of vote by party - Alliance Lepep 49.8%, PTR-MMM 38.5%, FSM 2.1%, OPR 1.1%, other 8.5%; elected seats by party - Alliance Lepep 47, PTR-MMM 13, OPR 2; appointed seats Alliance Lepep 4, PTR-MMM 3 \\ 
||Judicial branch|''highest court(s)'': Supreme Court of Mauritius (consists of the chief justice, a senior puisne judge, and 17 puisne judges); note - the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (in London) serves as the final court of appeal \\ ''judge selection and term of office'': chief justice appointed by the president after consultation with the prime minister; senior puisne judge appointed by the president with the advice of the chief justice; other puisne judges appointed by the president with the advice of the Judicial and Legal Commission, a 4-member body of judicial officials including the chief justice; all judges serve until retirement at age 62 \\ ''subordinate courts'': Court of Civil Appeal; Court of Criminal Appeal; Public Bodies Appeal Tribunal \\ 
||Political parties and leaders|Alliance Lepep (Alliance of the People) (Sir Anerood JUGNAUTH) (coalition including MSM, PMSD, and ML) \\ Labor Party (Parti Travailliste) or PTR or MLP (Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM) \\ Mauritian Militant Movement (Mouvement Militant Mauricien) or MMM (Paul BERENGER) \\ Mauritian Social Democratic Party (Parti Mauricien Social Democrate) or PMSD (Xavier Luc DUVAL) \\ Mauritian Solidarity Front (Front Solidarite Mauricienne) or FSM (Cehl FAKEERMEEAH, known as Cehl MEEAH) \\ Militant Socialist Movement (Mouvement Socialist Mauricien) or MSM (Pravind JUGNAUTH) \\ Muvman Liberater or ML (Ivan COLLENDAVELLOO) \\ Rodrigues Peoples Organization (Organisation du Peuple Rodriguais) or OPR (Serge CLAIR)
||Political pressure groups and leaders|Lalit Political Party \\ Rezistans ek Alternativ (Resistance and Alternative) \\ Say No to Coal!''other'': various labor unions \\ 
||International organization participation|ACP, AfDB, AOSIS, AU, C, CD, COMESA, CPLP (associate), FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (NGOs), ICCt, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, InOC, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA, NAM, OIF, OPCW, PCA, SAARC (observer), SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
||Diplomatic representation in the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador Sooroojdev PHOKEER (since 3 August 2015) \\ ''chancery'': 1709 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036; administrative offices at 3201 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 441, Washington, DC 20036 \\ ''telephone'': (1) (202) 244-1491 through 1492 \\ ''FAX'': (1) (202) 966-0983 \\ 
||Diplomatic representation from the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Melanie ZIMMERMAN (since 2016); note - also accredited to Seychelles \\ ''embassy'': 4th Floor, Rogers House, John Kennedy Avenue, Port Louis \\ ''mailing address'': international mail: P.O. Box 544, Port Louis; US mail: American Embassy, Port Louis, US Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-2450 \\ ''telephone'': (230) 202-4400 \\ ''FAX'': (230) 208-9534 \\ 
||Flag description|four equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, yellow, and green; red represents self-determination and independence, blue the Indian Ocean surrounding the island, yellow has been interpreted as the new light of independence, golden sunshine, or the bright future, and green can symbolize either agriculture or the lush vegetation of the island
||National symbol(s)|dodo bird, Trochetia Boutoniana flower; national colors: red, blue, yellow, green
||National anthem|''name'': "Motherland" \\ ''lyrics/music'': Jean Georges PROSPER/Philippe GENTIL \\  \\ ''__note__'': adopted 1968 \\