!!!Bolivia: Government
||Country name|''conventional long form'': Plurinational State of Bolivia \\ ''conventional short form'': Bolivia \\ ''local long form'': Estado Plurinacional de Bolivia \\ ''local short form'': Bolivia \\ ''etymology'': the country is named after Simon BOLIVAR, a 19th-century leader in the South American wars for independence \\ 
||Government type|presidential republic
||Capital|La Paz (administrative capital); Sucre (constitutional [legislative and judicial] capital)[{GoogleMap location='La Paz (administrative capital); Sucre (constitutional [legislative and judicial] capital)' zoom='6'}] \\ ''geographic coordinates'': 16 30 S, 68 09 W \\ ''time difference'': UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time) \\ 
||Administrative divisions|9 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Beni, Chuquisaca, Cochabamba, La Paz, Oruro, Pando, Potosi, Santa Cruz, Tarija
||Independence|6 August 1825 (from Spain)
||National holiday|Independence Day, 6 August (1825)
||Constitution|many previous; latest drafted 6 August 2006 - 9 December 2008, approved by referendum 25 January 2009, effective 7 February 2009; amended 2013 (2015)
||Legal system|civil law system with influences from Roman, Spanish, canon (religious), French, and indigenous law
||International law organization participation|has not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
||Citizenship|''citizenship by birth'': yes \\ ''citizenship by descent'': yes \\ ''dual citizenship recognized'': yes \\ ''residency requirement for naturalization'': 3 years \\ 
||Suffrage|18 years of age, universal and compulsory
||Executive branch|''chief of state'': President Juan Evo MORALES Ayma (since 22 January 2006); Vice President Alvaro GARCIA Linera (since 22 January 2006); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government \\ ''head of government'': President Juan Evo MORALES Ayma (since 22 January 2006); Vice President Alvaro GARCIA Linera (since 22 January 2006) \\ ''cabinet'': Cabinet appointed by the president \\ ''elections/appointments'': president and vice president directly elected on the same ballot by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held on 12 October 2014 (next to be held in 2019); note - a presidential candidate wins an election one of 3 ways \\ ''election results'': Juan Evo MORALES Ayma reelected president; percent of vote - Juan Evo MORALES Ayma 61%; Samuel DORIA MEDINA Arana 24.5%; Jorge QUIROGA 9.1%; other 5.4% \\ 
||Legislative branch|''description'': bicameral Plurinational Legislative Assembly or Asamblea Legislativa Plurinacional consists of the Chamber of Senators or Camara de Senadores (36 seats; members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote; members serve 5-year terms) and the Chamber of Deputies or Camara de Diputados (130 seats; 70 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote, 53 indirectly elected in single-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote, and 7 - apportioned to non-contiguous, rural areas in 7 of the 9 states - directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote; members serve 5-year terms) \\ ''elections'': Chamber of Senators and Chamber of Deputies - last held on 12 October 2014 (next to be held in 2019) \\ ''election results'': Chamber of Senators - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - MAS 25, UD 9, PDC 2; Chamber of Deputies - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - MAS 88, UD 32, PDC 10 \\ 
||Judicial branch|''highest court(s)'': Supreme Court or Tribunal Supremo de Justicia (consists of 12 judges); Plurinational Constitutional Tribunal (consists of 7 primary and 7 alternate magistrates); Plurinational Electoral Organ (consists of 7 members) \\ ''judge selection and term of office'': Supreme Court and Plurinational Constitutional Tribunal judges elected by popular vote from list of candidates pre-selected by Plurinational Legislative Assembly for 6-year terms); Plurinational Electoral Organ members - 6 judges elected by the Assembly and 1 appointed by the president; judges and members serve 6-year terms; note - the 2009 constitution reformed the procedure for selecting judicial officials for the Supreme Court, Constitutional Tribunal, and the Plurinational Electoral Organ by direct national vote, which occurred in October 2011 \\ ''subordinate courts'': Agro-Environmental Court; Council of the Judiciary; District Courts (in each of the 9 administrative departments) \\ 
||Political parties and leaders|Christian Democratic Party or PDC (Jorge Fernando QUIROGA Ramirez) \\ Movement Toward Socialism or MAS (Juan Evo MORALES Ayma) \\ United Democrats or UD (Samuel DORIA MEDINA Arana)
||Political pressure groups and leaders|Bolivian Workers Central or COB \\ Federation of Neighborhood Councils of El Alto or FEJUVE \\ Landless Movement or MST \\ National Coordinator for Change or CONALCAM \\ Sole Confederation of Campesino Workers of Bolivia or CSUTCB''other'': Cocalero groups; indigenous organizations (including Confederation of Indigenous Peoples of Eastern Bolivia or CIDOB and National Council of Ayullus and Markas of Quollasuyu or CONAMAQ); Interculturales union or CSCIB; labor unions (including the Central Bolivian Workers' Union or COB and Cooperative Miners Federation or FENCOMIN) \\ 
||International organization participation|CAN, CD, CELAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICCt, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO (correspondent), ITSO, ITU, LAES, LAIA, Mercosur (associate), MIGA, MINUSTAH, MONUSCO, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNAMID, UNASUR, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, Union Latina, UNMIL, UNMISS, UNOCI, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
||Diplomatic representation in the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Freddy BERSATTI Tudela \\ ''chancery'': 3014 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008 \\ ''telephone'': (1) (202) 328-4155 \\ ''FAX'': (1) (202) 328-3712 \\ ''consulate(s) general'': Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Washington,DC \\  \\ ''__note__'': as of September 2008, the US expelled the Bolivian ambassador to the US \\ 
||Diplomatic representation from the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Peter Brennan (since June 2014 \\ ''embassy'': Avenida Arce 2780, Casilla 425, La Paz \\ ''mailing address'': P. O. Box 425, La Paz; APO AA 34032 \\ ''telephone'': (591) (2) 216-8000 \\ ''FAX'': (591) (2) 216-8111 \\  \\ ''__note__'': in September 2008, the Bolivian Government expelled the US Ambassador to Bolivia, and the countries have yet to reinstate ambassadors \\ 
||Flag description|three equal horizontal bands of red (top), yellow, and green with the coat of arms centered on the yellow band; red stands for bravery and the blood of national heroes, yellow for the nation's mineral resources, and green for the fertility of the land \\ ''__note__'': similar to the flag of Ghana, which has a large black five-pointed star centered in the yellow band; in 2009, a presidential decree made it mandatory for a so-called wiphala - a square, multi-colored flag representing the country's indigenous peoples - to be used alongside the traditional flag \\ 
||National symbol(s)|llama, Andean condor; national colors: red, yellow, green
||National anthem|''name'': "Cancion Patriotica" (Patriotic Song) \\ ''lyrics/music'': Jose Ignacio de SANJINES/Leopoldo Benedetto VINCENTI \\  \\ ''__note__'': adopted 1852 \\