!!!China: Government
||Country name|''conventional long form'': People's Republic of China \\ ''conventional short form'': China \\ ''local long form'': Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo \\ ''local short form'': Zhongguo \\ ''abbreviation'': PRC \\ ''etymology'': English name derives from the Qin (Chin) rulers of the 3rd century B.C., who comprised the first imperial dynasty of ancient China; the Chinese name Zhongguo translates as "Central Nation" \\ 
||Government type|communist state
||Capital|Beijing[{GoogleMap location='Beijing' zoom='6'}] \\ ''geographic coordinates'': 39 55 N, 116 23 E \\ ''time difference'': UTC+8 (13 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time) \\  \\ ''__note__'': despite its size, all of China falls within one time zone; many people in Xinjiang Province observe an unofficial "Xinjiang time zone" of UTC+6, two hours behind Beijing \\ 
||Administrative divisions|23 provinces (sheng, singular and plural), 5 autonomous regions (zizhiqu, singular and plural), and 4 municipalities (shi, singular and plural)''provinces'': Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, Zhejiang; (see note on Taiwan) \\ ''autonomous regions'': Guangxi, Nei Mongol (Inner Mongolia), Ningxia, Xinjiang Uygur, Xizang (Tibet) \\ ''municipalities'': Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai, Tianjin \\  \\ ''__note__'': China considers Taiwan its 23rd province; see separate entries for the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau \\ 
||Independence|1 October 1949 (People's Republic of China established); notable earlier dates: 221 B.C. (unification under the Qin Dynasty); 1 January 1912 (Qing Dynasty replaced by the Republic of China)
||National holiday|National Day, the anniversary of the founding of the People's Republic of China, 1 October (1949)
||Constitution|several previous; latest promulgated 4 December 1982; amended several times, last in 2004 (2016)
||Legal system|civil law influenced by Soviet and continental European civil law systems; legislature retains power to interpret statutes; note - criminal procedure law revised in early 2012
||International law organization participation|has not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
||Citizenship|''citizenship by birth'': no \\ ''citizenship by descent only'': least one parent must be a citizen of China \\ ''dual citizenship recognized'': no \\ ''residency requirement for naturalization'': while naturalization is theoretically possible, in practical terms it is extremely difficult; residency is required but not specified \\ 
||Suffrage|18 years of age; universal
||Executive branch|''chief of state'': President XI Jinping (since 14 March 2013); Vice President LI Yuanchao (since 14 March 2013) \\ ''head of government'': Premier LI Keqiang (since 16 March 2013); Executive Vice Premiers ZHANG Gaoli (since 16 March 2013), LIU Yandong (since 16 March 2013), MA Kai (since 16 March 2013), WANG Yang (since 16 March 2013) \\ ''cabinet'': State Council appointed by National People's Congress \\ ''elections/appointments'': president and vice president indirectly elected by National People's Congress for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held on 5-17 March 2013 (next to be held in March 2018); premier nominated by president, confirmed by National People's Congress \\ ''election results'': XI Jinping elected president; National People's Congress vote - 2,952 ; LI Yuanchao elected vice president with 2,940 votes \\ 
||Legislative branch|''description'': unicameral National People's Congress or Quanguo Renmin Daibiao Dahui (2,987 seats; members indirectly elected by municipal, regional, and provincial people's congresses, and the People's Liberation Army; members serve 5-year terms); note - in practice, only members of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP), its 8 allied parties, and CCP-approved independent candidates are elected \\ ''elections'': last held in December 2012-February 2013 (next to be held in late 2017 to early 2018) \\ ''election results'': percent of vote - NA; seats - 2,987 \\ 
||Judicial branch|''highest court(s)'': Supreme People's Court (consists of over 340 judges including the chief justice, 13 grand justices organized into a civil committee and tribunals for civil, economic, administrative, complaint and appeal, and communication and transportation cases) \\ ''judge selection and term of office'': chief justice appointed by the People's National Congress (NPC); term limited to 2 consecutive 5-year terms; other justices and judges nominated by the chief justice and appointed by the Standing Committee of the NPC; term of other justices and judges determined by the NPC \\ ''subordinate courts'': Higher People's Courts; Intermediate People's Courts; District and County People's Courts; Autonomous Region People's Courts; Special People's Courts for military, maritime, transportation, and forestry issues \\  \\ ''__note__'': in late 2014, China unveiled planned judicial reforms \\ 
||Political parties and leaders|Chinese Communist Party or CCP (XI Jinping) \\ ''__note__'': China has eight nominally independent small parties ultimately controlled by the CCP \\ 
||Political pressure groups and leaders|no substantial political opposition groups exist
||International organization participation|ADB, AfDB (nonregional member), APEC, Arctic Council (observer), ARF, ASEAN (dialogue partner), BIS, BRICS, CDB, CICA, EAS, FAO, FATF, G-20, G-24 (observer), G-5, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, LAIA (observer), MIGA, MINURSO, MINUSMA, MONUSCO, NAM (observer), NSG, OAS (observer), OPCW, Pacific Alliance (observer), PCA, PIF (partner), SAARC (observer), SCO, SICA (observer), UN, UNAMID, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNFICYP, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIFIL, UNMIL, UNMISS, UNOCI, UNSC (permanent), UNTSO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO, ZC
||Diplomatic representation in the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador CUI Tiankai (since 3 April 2013) \\ ''chancery'': 3505 International Place NW, Washington, DC 20008 \\ ''telephone'': (1) (202) 495-2266 \\ ''FAX'': (1) (202) 495-2138 \\ ''consulate(s) general'': Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco \\ 
||Diplomatic representation from the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador Max Sieben BAUCUS (since 18 March 2014) \\ ''embassy'': 55 An Jia Lou Lu, 100600 Beijing \\ ''mailing address'': PSC 461, Box 50, FPO AP 96521-0002 \\ ''telephone'': (86) (10) 8531-3000 \\ ''FAX'': (86) (10) 8531-3300 \\ ''consulate(s) general'': Chengdu, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Shenyang, Wuhan \\ 
||Flag description|red with a large yellow five-pointed star and four smaller yellow five-pointed stars (arranged in a vertical arc toward the middle of the flag) in the upper hoist-side corner; the color red represents revolution, while the stars symbolize the four social classes - the working class, the peasantry, the urban petty bourgeoisie, and the national bourgeoisie (capitalists) - united under the Communist Party of China
||National symbol(s)|dragon; national colors: red, yellow
||National anthem|''name'': "Yiyongjun Jinxingqu" (The March of the Volunteers) \\ ''lyrics/music'': TIAN Han/NIE Er \\  \\ ''__note__'': adopted 1949; the anthem, though banned during the Cultural Revolution, is more commonly known as "Zhongguo Guoge" (Chinese National Song); it was originally the theme song to the 1935 Chinese movie, "Sons and Daughters in a Time of Storm" \\