!!!Saudi Arabia: Government
||Country name|''conventional long form'': Kingdom of Saudi Arabia \\ ''conventional short form'': Saudi Arabia \\ ''local long form'': Al Mamlakah al Arabiyah as Suudiyah \\ ''local short form'': Al Arabiyah as Suudiyah \\ ''etymology'': named after the ruling dynasty of the country, the House of Saud; the name "Arabia" can be traced back many centuries B.C., the ancient Egyptians referred to the region as "Ar Rabi" \\ 
||Government type|absolute monarchy
||Capital|Riyadh[{GoogleMap location='Riyadh' zoom='6'}] \\ ''geographic coordinates'': 24 39 N, 46 42 E \\ ''time difference'': UTC+3 (8 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time) \\ 
||Administrative divisions|13 provinces (mintaqat, singular - mintaqah); Al Bahah, Al Hudud ash Shamaliyah (Northern Border), Al Jawf, Al Madinah (Medina), Al Qasim, Ar Riyad (Riyadh), Ash Sharqiyah (Eastern), 'Asir, Ha'il, Jazan, Makkah (Mecca), Najran, Tabuk
||Independence|23 September 1932 (unification of the kingdom)
||National holiday|Unification of the Kingdom, 23 September (1932)
||Constitution|1 March 1992 - Basic Law of Government, issued by royal decree, serves as the constitutional framework and is based on the Qur'an and the life and tradition of the Prophet Muhammad
||Legal system|Islamic (sharia) legal system with some elements of Egyptian, French, and customary law; note - several secular codes have been introduced; commercial disputes handled by special committees
||International law organization participation|has not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
||Citizenship|''citizenship by birth'': no \\ ''citizenship by descent only'': the father must be a citizen of Saudi Arabia; a child born out of wedlock in Saudi Arabia to a Saudi mother and unknown father \\ ''dual citizenship recognized'': no \\ ''residency requirement for naturalization'': 5 years \\ 
||Suffrage|21 years of age; male; male and female for municipal elections
||Executive branch|''chief of state'': King and Prime Minister SALMAN bin Abd al-Aziz Al Saud (since 23 January 2015); Crown Prince and Deputy Prime Minister MUHAMMAD BIN NAYIF bin Abd al-Aziz Al Saud (born 30 August 1959); Deputy Crown Prince and Second Deputy Prime Minister MUHAMMAD BIN SALMAN bin Abd al-Aziz Al Saud (born 31 August 1985); note - the monarch is both chief of state and head of government \\ ''head of government'': King and Prime Minister SALMAN bin Abd al-Aziz Al Saud (since 23 January 2015); Crown Prince and Deputy Prime Minister MUHAMMAD BIN NAYIF bin Abd al-Aziz Al Saud (born 30 August 1959); Crown Prince and Second Deputy Prime Minister MUHAMMAD BIN SALMAN bin Abd al-Aziz Al Saud (born 31 August 1985) \\ ''cabinet'': Council of Ministers appointed by the monarch every 4 years and includes many royal family members \\ ''elections/appointments'': none; the monarchy is hereditary; note - an Allegiance Council created by royal decree in October 2006 established a committee of Saudi princes to a role in selecting future Saudi kings \\ 
||Legislative branch|''description'': unicameral Consultative Council or Majlis al-Shura (150 seats; members appointed by the monarch to serve 4-year terms); note - in early 2013, the monarch granted women 30 seats on the Council \\ 
||Judicial branch|''highest court(s)'': High Court (consists of the court chief and organized into circuits with 3-judge panels except the criminal circuit, which has a 5-judge panel for cases involving major punishments) \\ ''judge selection and term of office'': High Court chief and chiefs of the High Court Circuits appointed by royal decree following the recommendation of the Supreme Judiciary Council, a 10-member body of high-level judges and other judicial heads; new judges and assistant judges serve 1- and 2- year probations, respectively, before permanent assignment \\ ''subordinate courts'': Court of Appeals; Specialized Criminal Court, first-degree courts composed of general, criminal, personal status, and commercial courts; Labor Court; a hierarchy of administrative courts \\ 
||Political parties and leaders|none
||Political pressure groups and leaders|''other'': gas companies; religious groups \\ 
||International organization participation|ABEDA, AfDB (nonregional member), AFESD, AMF, BIS, CAEU, CP, FAO, G-20, G-77, GCC, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, LAS, MIGA, NAM, OAPEC, OAS (observer), OIC, OPCW, OPEC, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNRWA, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
||Diplomatic representation in the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador ABDALLAH bin Faysal bin Turki bin Abdallah Al Saud (since 28 January 2016) \\ ''chancery'': 601 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20037 \\ ''telephone'': (1) (202) 342-3800 \\ ''FAX'': (1) (202) 944-5983 \\ ''consulate(s) general'': Houston, Los Angeles, New York \\ 
||Diplomatic representation from the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador Joseph William WESTPHAL (since 26 March 2014) \\ ''embassy'': Collector Road M, Diplomatic Quarter, Riyadh \\ ''mailing address'': American Embassy, Unit 61307, APO AE 09803-1307; International Mail: P. O. Box 94309, Riyadh 11693 \\ ''telephone'': (966) (11) 488-3800 \\ ''FAX'': (966) (11) 488-7360 \\ ''consulate(s) general'': Dhahran, Jiddah (Jeddah) \\ 
||Flag description|green, a traditional color in Islamic flags, with the Shahada or Muslim creed in large white Arabic script (translated as "There is no god but God; Muhammad is the Messenger of God") above a white horizontal saber (the tip points to the hoist side); design dates to the early twentieth century and is closely associated with the Al Saud family which established the kingdom in 1932; the flag is manufactured with differing obverse and reverse sides so that the Shahada reads - and the sword points - correctly from right to left on both sides \\ ''__note__'': the only national flag to display an inscription as its principal design; one of only three national flags that differ on their obverse and reverse sides - the others are Moldova and Paraguay \\ 
||National symbol(s)|palm tree surmounting two crossed swords; national colors: green, white
||National anthem|''name'': "Aash Al Maleek" (Long Live Our Beloved King) \\ ''lyrics/music'': Ibrahim KHAFAJI/Abdul Rahman al-KHATEEB \\  \\ ''__note__'': music adopted 1947, lyrics adopted 1984 \\