!!!United Arab Emirates: Government
||Country name|''conventional long form'': United Arab Emirates \\ ''conventional short form'': none \\ ''local long form'': Al Imarat al Arabiyah al Muttahidah \\ ''local short form'': none \\ ''former'': Trucial Oman, Trucial States \\ ''abbreviation'': UAE \\ ''etymology'': self-descriptive country name; the name "Arabia" can be traced back many centuries B.C., the ancient Egyptians referred to the region as "Ar Rabi"; "emirates" derives from "amir" the Arabic word for "commander," "lord," or "prince" \\ 
||Government type|federation of monarchies
||Capital|Abu Dhabi[{GoogleMap location='Abu Dhabi' zoom='6'}] \\ ''geographic coordinates'': 24 28 N, 54 22 E \\ ''time difference'': UTC+4 (9 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time) \\ 
||Administrative divisions|7 emirates (imarat, singular - imarah); Abu Zaby (Abu Dhabi), 'Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Ash Shariqah (Sharjah), Dubayy (Dubai), Ra's al Khaymah, Umm al Qaywayn
||Independence|2 December 1971 (from the UK)
||National holiday|Independence Day, 2 December (1971)
||Constitution|previous 1971 (provisional); latest drafted in 1979, became permanent May 1996; amended 2009 (2016)
||Legal system|mixed legal system of Islamic law and civil law
||International law organization participation|has not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
||Citizenship|''citizenship by birth'': no \\ ''citizenship by descent only'': the father must be a citizen of the United Arab Emirates; if the father is unknown, the mother must be a citizen \\ ''dual citizenship recognized'': no \\ ''residency requirement for naturalization'': 30 years \\ 
||Suffrage|limited; note - rulers of the seven emirates each select a proportion of voters for the Federal National Council (FNC) that together account for about 12 percent of Emirati citizens
||Executive branch|''chief of state'': President KHALIFA bin Zayid Al-Nuhayyan (since 3 November 2004), ruler of Abu Zaby (Abu Dhabi) (since 4 November 2004); Vice President and Prime Minister MUHAMMAD BIN RASHID Al-Maktum (since 5 January 2006) \\ ''head of government'': Prime Minister Vice President MUHAMMAD BIN RASHID Al-Maktum (since 5 January 2006); Deputy Prime Ministers SAIF bin Zayid Al-Nuhayyan, MANSUR bin Zayid Al-Nuhayyan (both since 11 May 2009) \\ ''cabinet'': Council of Ministers appointed by the president \\ ''elections/appointments'': president and vice president indirectly elected by the Federal Supreme Council - composed of the rulers of the 7 emirates - for a 5-year term (no term limits); election last held 3 November 2009 (next election NA); prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the president \\ ''election results'': KHALIFA bin Zayid Al-Nuhayyan reelected president; FSC vote NA \\  \\ ''__note__'': there is also a Federal Supreme Council (FSC) composed of the 7 emirate rulers; the FSC is the highest constitutional authority in the UAE; establishes general policies and sanctions federal legislation; meets 4 times a year; Abu Zaby (Abu Dhabi) and Dubayy (Dubai) rulers have effective veto power \\ 
||Legislative branch|''description'': unicameral Federal National Council (FNC) or Majlis al-Ittihad al-Watani (40 seats; 20 members appointed by the rulers of the 7 constituent states and 20 indirectly elected by an electoral college whose members are selected by each emirate ruler proportional to its FNC membership; members serve 4-year terms) \\ ''elections'': last held on 3 October 2015 (next to be held in 2019); note - the electoral college was expanded from 129,274 electors in the December 2011 election to 224,279 in the October 2015 election; elections for candidates rather than political parties; 347 candidates including 78 women ran for 20 contested seats in the 40-member FNC; 80,000 voters, or 35% of eligible voters, turned out to vote and 19 men and one woman were elected \\ ''election results'': elected FNC seats by emirate - Abu Dhabi 4, Dubai 4, Sharjah 3, Ras al-Khaimah 3, Ajman 2, Fujairah 2, Umm al-Quwain 2; note - only 1 woman (from Ras Al Khaimah) won an FNC seat \\ 
||Judicial branch|''highest court(s)'': Federal Supreme Court (consists of the court president and 4 judges) \\ ''judge selection and term of office'': judges appointed by the federal president following approval by the Federal Supreme Council, which includes the rulers of the 7 emirates; judges serve until retirement age or the expiry of their appointment term \\ ''subordinate courts'': Federal Court of Cassation (determines the constitutionality of laws promulgated at the federal and local (emirate) level; federal level courts of first instance and appeals courts; each emirate has its own court system \\ 
||Political parties and leaders|none; political parties are banned
||Political pressure groups and leaders|NA
||International organization participation|ABEDA, AfDB (nonregional member), AFESD, AMF, BIS, CAEU, CICA, FAO, G-77, GCC, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, LAS, MIGA, NAM, OAPEC, OIC, OIF (observer), OPCW, OPEC, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNRWA, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
||Diplomatic representation in the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador Yusif bin Mani bin Said al-UTAYBA (since 25 July 2008) \\ ''chancery'': 3522 International Court NW, Suite 400, Washington, DC 20008 \\ ''telephone'': (1) (202) 243-2400 \\ ''FAX'': (1) (202) 243-2432 \\ ''consulate(s) general'': Los Angeles \\ 
||Diplomatic representation from the US|''chief of mission'': Ambassador Barbara A. LEAF (since 30 December 2014) \\ ''embassy'': Embassies District, Plot 38 Sector W59-02, Street No. 4, Abu Dhabi \\ ''mailing address'': P. O. Box 4009, Abu Dhabi \\ ''telephone'': (971) (2) 414-2200 \\ ''FAX'': (971) (2) 414-2603 \\ ''consulate(s) general'': Dubai \\ 
||Flag description|three equal horizontal bands of green (top), white, and black with a wider vertical red band on the hoist side; the flag incorporates all four Pan-Arab colors, which in this case represent fertility (green), neutrality (white), petroleum resources (black), and unity (red); red was the traditional color incorporated into all flags of the emirates before their unification
||National symbol(s)|golden falcon; national colors: green, white, black, red
||National anthem|''name'': "Nashid al-watani al-imarati" (National Anthem of the UAE) \\ ''lyrics/music'': AREF Al Sheikh Abdullah Al Hassan/Mohamad Abdel WAHAB \\  \\ ''__note__'': music adopted 1971, lyrics adopted 1996; Mohamad Abdel WAHAB also composed the music for the anthem of Tunisia \\