unbekannter Gast

Luxembourg: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
conventional short form: Luxembourg
local long form: Grand Duche de Luxembourg
local short form: Luxembourg
CapitalLuxembourg Luxembourg
geographic coordinates: 49 36 N, 6 07 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Administrative divisions3 districts; Diekirch, Grevenmacher, Luxembourg
Constitutionprevious 1842 (heavily amended 1848, 1856); latest effective 17 October 1968; amended many times, last in 2008 (2008)
Executive branchchief of state: Grand Duke HENRI (since 7 October 2000); Heir Apparent Prince GUILLAUME (son of the monarch, born 11 November 1981)
head of government: Prime Minister Xavier BETTEL (since 4 December 2013); Deputy Prime Minister Etienne SCHNEIDER (since 4 December 2013)
cabinet: Council of Ministers recommended by the prime minister and appointed by the monarch
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; following popular elections to the Chamber of Deputies, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually appointed prime minister by the monarch; the deputy prime minister appointed by the monarch; the prime minister and deputy prime minister are responsible to the Chamber of Deputies
note: government coalition - DP, LSAP, and the Green Party (first time since 1979 that the CSV is in opposition)
Flag descriptionthree equal horizontal bands of red (top), white, and light blue; similar to the flag of the Netherlands, which uses a darker blue and is shorter; the coloring is derived from the Grand Duke's coat of arms (a red lion on a white and blue striped field)
Independence1839 (from the Netherlands)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Superior Court of Justice includes Court of Appeal and Court of Cassation (consists of 27 judges on 9 benches); Constitutional Court (consists of 9 members)
judge selection and term of office: judges of both courts appointed by the monarch for life
subordinate courts: district and local tribunals and courts
Legal systemcivil law system
Legislative branchunicameral Chamber of Deputies or Chambre des Deputes (60 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 20 October 2013 (next to be held by June 2018)
election results: percent of vote by party - CSV 33.7%, LSAP 20.3%, DP 18.3%, Green Party 10.1%, ADR 6.6%, The Left 4.5%, other 6.1%; seats by party - CSV 23, LSAP 13, DP 13, Green Party 6, ADR 3, The Left 2
note: there is also a Council of State that serves as an advisory body to the Chamber of Deputies; the Council of State has 21 members appointed by the Grand Duke on the advice of the prime minister
International organization participationADB (nonregional member), Australia Group, Benelux, BIS, CD, CE, EAPC, EBRD, ECB, EIB, EMU, ESA, EU, FAO, FATF, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA, NATO, NEA, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OIF, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, Schengen Convention, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIFIL, UNRWA, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO, ZC
National holidayNational Day (birthday of Grand Duchess Charlotte) 23 June; note - the actual date of birth was 23 January 1896, but the festivities were shifted by five months to allow observance during a more favorable time of year
Political pressure groups and leadersABBL (bankers' association) (Ernst Wilhelm CONTZEN)
ALEBA (financial sector trade union) (Marc GLESENER)
Centrale Paysanne (federation of agricultural producers) (Marc FISCH)
CEP (professional sector chamber) (Stephane LIA)
CGFP (trade union representing civil service) (Joseph DALEIDEN)
Chamber of Commerce (Chambre de Commerce) (Carlo THELEN)
Chamber of Artisans (Chambre des Metiers) (Roland KUHN)
FEDIL (federation of industrialists) (Nicolas SOISSON)
Greenpeace (environment protection) (Kumi NAIDOO)
LCGP (center-right trade union) (Patrick DURY)
Mouvement Ecologique (environment protection) (Blanche WEBER)
OGBL (center-left trade union) (Jean-Claude REDING)
Political parties and leadersAlternative Democratic Reform Party or ADR (Jean SCHOOS)
Christian Social People's Party or CSV (Michel WOLTER)
The Left (dei Lenk/la Gauche) (Serge URBANY)
Democratic Party or DP (Xavier BETTEL)
Green Party (Sam TANSON and Christian KMIOTEK)
Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party or LSAP (Alex BODRY)
other minor parties
Suffrage18 years of age; universal and compulsory
Government typeconstitutional monarchy
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Jean-Louis WOLZFELD (since 11 September 2012)
chancery: 2200 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
telephone: (1) (202) 265-4171 through 72
FAX: (1) (202) 328-8270
consulate(s) general: New York, San Francisco
National anthemname: "Ons Heemecht" (Our Motherland); "De Wilhelmus" (The William)
lyrics/music: Michel LENTZ/Jean-Antoine ZINNEN; Nikolaus WELTER/unknown
note: "Ons Heemecht," adopted 1864, is the national anthem, while "De Wilhelmus," adopted 1919, serves as a royal anthem for use when members of the grand ducal family enter or exit a ceremony in Luxembourg
International law organization participationaccepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
National symbol(s)lion
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador Robert MANDELL (since 25 October 2011)
embassy: 22 Boulevard Emmanuel Servais, L-2535 Luxembourg City
mailing address: American Embassy Luxembourg, Unit 1410, APO AE 09126-1410 (official mail); American Embassy Luxembourg, PSC 9, Box 9500, APO AE 09123 (personal mail)
telephone: (352) 46-01-23
FAX: (352) 46-14-01