Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas): Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)
etymology: the archipelago takes its name from the Falkland Sound, the strait separating the two main islands; the channel itself was named after the Viscount of Falkland who sponsored an expedition to the islands in 1690; the Spanish name for the archipelago derives from the French "Iles Malouines," the name applied to the islands by French explorer Louis-Antoine de BOUGAINVILLE in 1764
Dependency statusoverseas territory of the UK; also claimed by Argentina
Government typeparliamentary democracy (Legislative Assembly); self-governing overseas territory of the UK
CapitalStanley Stanley
geographic coordinates: 51 42 S, 57 51 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisionsnone (overseas territory of the UK; also claimed by Argentina)
Independencenone (overseas territory of the UK; also claimed by Argentina)
National holidayLiberation Day, 14 June (1982)
Constitutionprevious 1985; latest entered into force 1 January 2009 (2016)
Legal systemEnglish common law and local statutes
Citizenshipsee United Kingdom
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor Colin ROBERTS (since 28 April 2014)
head of government: Chief Executive Keith PADGETT (since 1 February 2012)
cabinet: Executive Council elected by the Legislative Council
elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; chief executive appointed by the governor
Legislative branchdescription: unicameral Legislative Assembly, formerly the Legislative Council (10 seats; 8 members directly elected by majority vote and 2 appointed ex officio members - the chief executive, appointed by the governor, and the financial secretary; members serve 4-year terms)
elections: last held on 7 November 2013 (next to be held in November 2017)
election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - independent 8
Judicial branchhighest resident court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the court president, the chief justice as an ex officio, non-resident member, and 2 justices of appeal); Supreme Court (consists of the chief justice); note - appeals beyond the Court of Appeal are referred to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (in London)
judge selection and term of office: all justices appointed by the governor; tenure specified in each justice's instrument of appointment
subordinate courts: Magistrate's Court (senior magistrate presides over civil and criminal divisions); Court of Summary Jurisdiction
Political parties and leadersnone; all independents
Political pressure groups and leadersFalkland Islands Association (supports freedom of the people from external causes)
International organization participationUPU
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (overseas territory of the UK; also claimed by Argentina)
Flag descriptionblue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Falkland Island coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms contains a white ram (sheep raising was once the major economic activity) above the sailing ship Desire (whose crew discovered the islands) with a scroll at the bottom bearing the motto DESIRE THE RIGHT
National symbol(s)ram
National anthemname: "Song of the Falklands""
lyrics/music: Christopher LANHAM

note: adopted 1930s; the song is the local unofficial anthem; as a territory of the United Kingdom, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)