unbekannter Gast

Isle of Man: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Isle of Man
abbreviation: I.O.M.
CapitalDouglas Douglas
geographic coordinates: 54 09 N, 4 29 W
time difference: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Dependency statusBritish crown dependency
Administrative divisionsnone; there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 24 local authorities each with its own elections
Constitutionseveral previous; latest announced 16 October 2006 (Isle of Man Constitution Act 2006) (2006)
Executive branchchief of state: Lord of Mann Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Lieutenant Governor Adam WOOD (since 7 April 2011)
head of government: Chief Minister Allan BELL (since 11 October 2011)
cabinet: Council of Ministers
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; lieutenant governor appointed by the monarch; the chief minister elected by the Tynwald for a five-year term; election last held on 11 October 2011 (next to be held in December 2016)
election results: House of Keys speaker Allan BELL elected chief minister by the Tynwald with 27 votes out of 30
Flag descriptionred with the Three Legs of Man emblem (triskelion), in the center; the three legs are joined at the thigh and bent at the knee; in order to have the toes pointing clockwise on both sides of the flag, a two-sided emblem is used; the flag is based on the coat-of-arms of the last recognized Norse King of Mann, Magnus III (r. 1252-65); the triskelion has its roots in an early Celtic sun symbol
Independencenone (British crown dependency)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Isle of Man High Courts of Justice (consists of 3 permanent judges called "deemsters" and 1 judge of appeal; organized into the Staff of Government Division or Court of Appeal and the Civil Division)
note - appeals beyond the High Court of Justice are referred to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (in London)
judge selection and term of office: judges appointed by the Lord Chancellor of England on the nomination of the lieutenant governor; judge tenure NA
subordinate courts: High Court; Court of Summary Gaol Delivery; Summary Courts; magistrate's Court; specialized courts
Legal systemthe laws of the UK where applicable apply and include Manx statutes
Legislative branchbicameral Tynwald consists of the Legislative Council (11 seats; members composed of the President of Tynwald, the Lord Bishop of Sodor and Man, a nonvoting attorney general, and 8 others named by the House of Keys) and the House of Keys (24 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: House of Keys - last held on 29 September 2011 (next to be held in September 2016)
election results: House of Keys - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Liberal Vannin Party 3, independents 21
International organization participationUPU
National holidayTynwald Day, 5 July
Political pressure groups and leadersAlliance for Progressive Government or APG (a government watchdog)
Mec Vannin (political party advocating a sovereign state and environment policies); note - has only had one member elected to the Tynwald
Political parties and leadersAlliance for Progressive Government
Liberal Vannin Party (Peter KARRAN)
Manx Labor Party
Mec Vannin (Bernard MOFFATT); note - sometimes referred to as the Manx Nationalist Party
most members sit as independents
Suffrage16 years of age; universal
Government typeparliamentary democracy
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (British crown dependency)
National anthemname: "Arrane Ashoonagh dy Vannin" (O Land of Our Birth)
lyrics/music: William Henry GILL (English), John J. KNEEN (Manx)/traditional
note: adopted 2003, in use since 1907; serves as a local anthem; as a British crown dependency, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom) and is played when the sovereign, members of the royal family, or the lieutenant governor are present
National symbol(s)triskelion (a motif of three legs)
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (British crown dependency)