unbekannter Gast


Biodiversity Centres in Austria: As part of a study carried out by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF, or World-wide Fund for Nature), 367 areas in Austria have been defined as centres of biodiversity and homes of endangered animals or plants. The areas have been structured into 14 regional centres: the Eastern Viennese basin along the rivers Danube and March/Morava as far as the Leitha river; the area around Lake Neusiedl; the area along the thermal line from Perchtoldsdorf near Vienna up to the Hohe Wand mountains, the most eastern edge of the Eastern Alps and the southwestern part of the Viennese basin; the eastern edge of the Bohemian massif including the western Tullnerfeld plain and the Pulkau Valley; the Weinsberg forest and the Freiwald forest along the border between Lower and Upper Austria; the Arbesthal hills including the Leithagebirge mountains; Southern Burgenland; Southern Styria along the lower Mur/Mura river; the southern Klagenfurt basin around Villach-Sattniz and Jaunfeld (Carinthia); the Lungau region around Tamsweg (province of Salzburg); the Salzkammergut region including the Totes Gebirge mountains and parts of the Dachstein; the Flachgau region and the lakes of the Upper Austrian alpine foothills; the upper and middle Inn Valley; Bregenzerwald mountain region.