unbekannter Gast


Flachgau, province of Salzburg, the northern area of the province of Salzburg containing the provincial capital of Salzburg; encompasses the foothills of the Alps north of Salzburg and is made up almost entirely of the political district Salzburg-Land. The Flachgau forms a tongue-like basin shaped by the Salzach Glacier during the last Ice Age and boasts large forested areas and very fertile farmland with settlements. Tree-covered Flysch mountains (Grosse Plaike, Kolomannsberg, Haunsberg, Buchberg, Heuberg, Irrsberg) tower over the irregular hill country with small lakes (Lake Wallersee, Lake Trumersee), reservoirs, marshes and peat deposits. The Gaisberg and Untersberg mountains round off the landscape to the south. In the Flachgau the Einheitshaus type of farmhouse typical of the province of Salzburg dominates, in the north bordering on Upper Austria a transition to the Vierseithof farmhouse type of the Innviertel region can be noted. The Flachgau region receives a lot of rainfall; the Westbahn railway line runs through the area; as well as Salzburg and its suburbs, the largest settlements in the Flachgau include: Seekirchen, Neumarkt am Wallersee, Strasswalchen, Oberndorf and Lamprechtshausen.