unbekannter Gast

Angola: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Republic of Angola
conventional short form: Angola
local long form: Republica de Angola
local short form: Angola
former: People's Republic of Angola
CapitalLuanda Luanda
geographic coordinates: 8 50 S, 13 13 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions18 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia); Bengo, Benguela, Bie, Cabinda, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Kwando Kubango, Kwanza Norte, Kwanza Sul, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uige, Zaire
Constitutionprevious 1975, 1992; latest adopted 5 February 2010 (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS (since 21 September 1979); Vice President Manuel Domingos VICENTE (since 26 September 2012); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government
head of government: President Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS (since 21 September 1979); Vice President Manuel Domingos VICENTE (since 26 September 2012)
cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
elections: president indirectly elected by National Assembly for a five-year term (eligible for a second consecutive or discontinuous term) under the 2010 constitution; note - according to the 2010 constitution, ballots are cast for parties rather than candidates, the majority leader is appointed president; following the results of the 2012 legislative elections DOS SANTOS became president (eligible for a second term)
election results: NA; as leader of the MPLA, Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS became pesident following legislative elections on 31 August 2012; DOS SANTOS was inaugurated on 26 September 2012 to serve the first of a possible two terms under the 2010 constitution
Flag descriptiontwo equal horizontal bands of red (top) and black with a centered yellow emblem consisting of a five-pointed star within half a cogwheel crossed by a machete (in the style of a hammer and sickle); red represents liberty, black the African continent, the symbols characterize workers and peasants
Independence11 November 1975 (from Portugal)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court or Tribunal da Relacao (consists of the chief justice and NA judges; Constitutional Court or Tribunal Constitucional (consists of 11 members)
judge selection and term of office: Supreme Court judges appointed by the president upon recommendation of the Supreme Judicial Council, an 18-member body presided over by the president; judge tenure NA; Constitutional Court judges - 4 nominated by the president, 4 elected by National Assembly, 2 elected by Supreme National Council, 1 elected by competitive submission of curricula; judges serve single 7-year terms
subordinate courts: provincial and municipal courts
Legal systemcivil legal system based on Portuguese civil law; no judicial review of legislation
Legislative branchunicameral National Assembly or Assembleia Nacional (220 seats; members elected by proportional vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 31 August 2012 (next to be held in 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party - MPLA 71.8%, UNITA 18.7%, CASA-CE 6.0%, PRS 1.7%, FNLA 1.1%, other 0.7%; seats by party - MPLA 175, UNITA 32, CASA-CE 8, PRS 3, FNLA 2
International organization participationACP, AfDB, AU, CPLP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO (correspondent), ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA, NAM, OAS (observer), OPEC, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, Union Latina, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
National holidayIndependence Day, 11 November (1975)
Political pressure groups and leadersFront for the Liberation of the Enclave of Cabinda or FLEC (N'zita Henriques TIAGO)
note: FLEC's small-scale armed struggle for the independence of Cabinda Province persists despite the signing of a peace accord with the government in August 2006; Several factions of FLEC have broken off over the past 30 years, including the FLEC-PM (Rodrigues Mingas), which was responsible for a deadly attack on the Togolese soccer team in 2010
Political parties and leadersBroad Convergence for the Salvation of Angola Electoral Coalition or CASA-CE (Abel CHIVUKUVUKU)
National Front for the Liberation of Angola or FNLA (Lucas NGONDA)
National Union for the Total Independence of Angola or UNITA (Isaias SAMAKUVA) (largest opposition party)
Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola or MPLA (Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS) (ruling party in power since 1975)
Social Renewal Party or PRS (Eduardo KUANGANA)
note: 4 other parties qualified to participate in the national election in August 2012
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typerepublic; multiparty presidential regime
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Alberto do Carmo BENTO RIBEIRO (since 1 September 2011)
chancery: 2108 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009
telephone: (1) (202) 785-1156
FAX: (1) (202) 785-1258
consulate(s) general: Houston, New York
National anthemname: "Angola Avante" (Forward Angola)
lyrics/music: Manuel Rui Alves MONTEIRO/Rui Alberto Vieira Dias MINGAO
note: adopted 1975
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
National symbol(s)Palanca Negra Gigante (giant black sable antelope)
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Heather C. Merritt
embassy: number 32 Rua Houari Boumedienne (in the Miramar area of Luanda), Luanda
mailing address: international mail: Caixa Postal 6468, Luanda; pouch: US Embassy Luanda, US Department of State, 2550 Luanda Place, Washington, DC 20521-2550
telephone: (244) (222) 64-1000
FAX: (244) (222) 64-1232