unbekannter Gast

Central African Republic: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Central African Republic
conventional short form: none
local long form: Republique Centrafricaine
local short form: none
former: Ubangi-Shari, Central African Empire
abbreviation: CAR
CapitalBangui Bangui
geographic coordinates: 4 22 N, 18 35 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions14 prefectures (prefectures, singular - prefecture), 2 economic prefectures* (prefectures economiques, singular - prefecture economique), and 1 commune**; Bamingui-Bangoran, Bangui**, Basse-Kotto, Haute-Kotto, Haut-Mbomou, Kemo, Lobaye, Mambere-Kadei, Mbomou, Nana-Grebizi*, Nana-Mambere, Ombella-Mpoko, Ouaka, Ouham, Ouham-Pende, Sangha-Mbaere*, Vakaga
Constitutionseveral previous; latest ratified by referendum 5 December 2004, effective 27 December 2004; amended 2010; note - the transitional parliament has begun work on a new constitution which should be ready for citizens feedback in early 2015 (2010)
Executive branchchief of state: Interim President Catherine SAMBA-PANZA (since 20 January 2014); elected by the National Transitional Council
head of government: Interim Prime Minister Andre NZAPAYEKE (since 25 January 2014); note - he replaced Prime Minister Nicolas TIANGAYE who resigned 10 January 2014
cabinet: Council of Ministers
elections: interim president was elected by the National Transitional Council on 20 January 2014; she will be in office until February 2015 at the new general elections
election results: in the second round Catherine SAMBA-PANZA was elected; SAMBA-PANZA 75 votes from the National Transitional Council, Desire KOLINGBA 53 votes (129 MPs out of 135 voted)
note: rebel forces seized the captial in March 2013, forcing former President BOZIZE to flee the country; Interim President Michel DJOTODIA assumed the presidency, reinstated the prime minister, established a transitional government and was subsequently affirmed as president by the National Transitional Council on 13 Apriil 2013; he resigned soon after because of racial violence in the country and was replced briefly by Interim President Alexandre-Ferdinand NGUENDET
Flag descriptionfour equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, green, and yellow with a vertical red band in center; a yellow five-pointed star to the hoist side of the blue band; banner combines the Pan-African and French flag colors; red symbolizes the blood spilled in the struggle for independence, blue represents the sky and freedom, white peace and dignity, green hope and faith, and yellow tolerance; the star represents aspiration towards a vibrant future
Independence13 August 1960 (from France)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court (consists of NA judges); Constitutional Court (consists of 9 judges, at least 3 of which are women)
judge selection and term of office: Supreme Court judges appointed by the president; Constitutional Court judge appointments - 2 by the president, 1 by the speaker of the National Assembly, 2 elected by their peers, 2 are advocates elected by their peers, and 2 are law professors elected by their peers; judges serve 7-year non-renewable terms
subordinate courts: high courts; magistrates' courts
Legal systemcivil law system based on the French model
Legislative branchunicameral National Transitional Council to act as the National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (105 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 23 January 2011 and 27 March 2011 (next to be held in February 2015)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NA
International organization participationACP, AfDB, AU, BDEAC, CEMAC, EITI (compliant country), FAO, FZ, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA, NAM, OIC, OIF, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
National holidayRepublic Day, 1 December (1958)
Political pressure groups and leadersNA
Political parties and leadersAlliance for Democracy and Progress or ADP (Clement BELIBANGA)
Central African Democratic Rally or RDC (Louis-Pierre GAMBA)
Civic Forum or FC
Democratic Forum for Modernity or FODEM (Saturnin NDOMBY)
Liberal Democratic Party or PLD
Londo Association or LONDO
Movement for Democracy and Development or MDD
MaMovement for the Liberation of the Central African People or MLPC (Martin ZIGUELE )
National Convergence or KNK (Francois BOZIZE)
National Unity Party or PUN
New Alliance for Progress or NAP (Jean-Jacques DEMAFOUTH)
Patriotic Front for Progress or FPP (Alexandre Philippe GOUMBA)
People's Union for the Republic or UPR (Pierre Sammy MAKFOY)
Social Democratic Party or PSD (Enoch LAKOUE)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typerepublic
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Stanislas MOUSSA-KEMBE (since 24 August 2009)
chancery: 1618 22nd Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
telephone: (1) (202) 483-7800
FAX: (1) (202) 332-9893
National anthemname: "Le Renaissance" (The Renaissance)
lyrics/music: Barthelemy BOGANDA/Herbert PEPPER
note: adopted 1960; Barthelemy BOGANDA, who wrote the anthem's lyrics, was the first prime minister of the autonomous French territory
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
National symbol(s)elephant
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador Laurence D. WOHLERS (since September 2010)
embassy: Avenue David Dacko, Bangui
mailing address: B. P. 924, Bangui
telephone: (236) 21 61 02 00
FAX: (236) 21 61 44 94
note: the embassy temporarily suspended operations in December, 2012