unbekannter Gast

Niger: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Republic of Niger
conventional short form: Niger
local long form: Republique du Niger
local short form: Niger
CapitalNiamey Niamey
geographic coordinates: 13 31 N, 2 07 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions8 regions (regions, singular - region) includes 1 capital district* (communite urbaine); Agadez, Diffa, Dosso, Maradi, Niamey*, Tahoua, Tillaberi, Zinder
Constitutionseveral previous; passed by referendum 31 October 2010, entered into force 25 November 2010 (2014)
Executive branchchief of state: President ISSOUFOU Mahamadou (since 7 April 2011)
head of government: Prime Minister Brigi RAFINI (since 7 April 2011); appointed by the president and shares some executive responsibilities with the president
cabinet: 37-member Cabinet appointed by the president; note - in August 2013, the president authorized a cabinet reshuffle and increased its membership to 37 from 26 in order to create a government of national unity
elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term (eligible for a second term); candidate must receive a majority of the votes to be elected president; a presidential election to restore civilian rule was held on 31 January 2011 with a runoff election on 12 March 2011 between ISSOUFOU Mahamadou (PNDS-Tarayya) and Seini OUMAROU (MNSD-Nassara)
election results: ISSOUFOU Mahamadou elected president; percent of vote - ISSOUFOU Mahamadou 58%, Seini OUMAROU 42%
Flag descriptionthree equal horizontal bands of orange (top), white, and green with a small orange disk centered in the white band; the orange band denotes the drier northern regions of the Sahara; white stands for purity and innocence; green symbolizes hope and the fertile and productive southern and western areas, as well as the Niger River; the orange disc represents the sun and the sacrifices made by the people
note: similar to the flag of India, which has a blue spoked wheel centered in the white band
Independence3 August 1960 (from France)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Constitutional Court (consists of 7 judges); High Court of Justice (consists of 7 members)
judge selection and term of office: Constitutional Court judges nominated/elected - 1 by the president of the Republic, 1 by the president of the National Assembly, 2 by peer judges, 2 by peer lawyers, 1 law professor by peers, and 1 from within Nigerien society; all appointed by the president; judges serve 6-year nonrenewable terms with one-third of membership renewed every 2 years; High Judicial Court members selected from among the legislature and judiciary; members serve 5-year terms
subordinate courts: Court of Cassation; Council of State; Court of Finances; various specialized tribunals and customary courts
Legal systemmixed legal system of civil law (based on French civil law), Islamic law, and customary law
Legislative branchunicameral National Assembly (113 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 31 January 2011
election results: percent of vote by party - PNDS-Tarrayya 33%, MNSD-Nassara 21%, MODEN/FA-Lumana 20%, ANDP-Zaman Lahiya 7.5%, RDP-Jama'a 6.5%, UDR-Tabbat 5.4%, CDS-Rahama 3.3%, UNI 1%; seats by party - PNDS-Tarrayya 37, MNSD-Nassara 26, MODEN/FA-Lumana 25, ANDP-Zaman Lahiya 8, RDP-Jama'a 7, UDR-Tabbat 6, CDS-Rahama 3, UNI 1
International organization participationACP, AfDB, AU, CD, ECOWAS, EITI (compliant country), Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO (correspondent), ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA, MINUSMA, MONUSCO, NAM, OIC, OIF, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNMIL, UNOCI, UNWTO, UPU, WADB (regional), WAEMU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
National holidayRepublic Day, 18 December (1958); note - commemorates the founding of the Republic of Niger which predated independence from France in 1960
Political parties and leadersDemocratic and Social Convention-Rahama or CDS-Rahama (Mahamane OUSMANE)
National Movement for a Society of Development-Nassara or MNSD-Nassara (Seini OUMAROU)
National Union of Independents or UNI (Amadou DJIBO ALI)
Nigerien Alliance for Democracy and Progress-Zaman Lahiya or ANDP-Zaman Lahiya (Moussa Moumouni DJERMAKOYE)
Nigerien Democratic Movement for an African Federation or MODEN/FA Lumana (Hama AMADOU)
Nigerien Party for Democracy and Socialism or PNDS-Tarrayya (Mohamed BAZOUM)
Rally for Democracy and Progress-Jama'a or RDP-Jama'a (Hamid ALGABID)
Social and Democratic Rally or RSD-Gaskiyya (Cheiffou AMADOU)
Union for Democracy and the Republic-Tabbat or UDR-Tabbat (Amadou Boubacar CISSE)
note: the SPLM and SPLM-DC are banned political parties
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typerepublic
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Maman Sambo SIDIKOU (since 2 December 2011)
chancery: 2204 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
telephone: (1) (202) 483-4224 through 4227
FAX: (1) (202)483-3169
National anthemname: "La Nigerienne" (The Nigerien)
lyrics/music: Maurice Albert THIRIET/Robert JACQUET and Nicolas Abel Francois FRIONNET
note: adopted 1961
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Richard BELL (since September 2012)
embassy: BP 11201, Rue Des Ambassades, Niamey
mailing address: 2420 Niamey Pl, Washington DC 20521-2420
telephone: (227) 20-73-31-69 or (227) 20-72-39-41
FAX: (227) 20-73-55-60