unbekannter Gast

Tunisia: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Tunisian Republic
conventional short form: Tunisia
local long form: Al Jumhuriyah at Tunisiyah
local short form: Tunis
CapitalTunis Tunis
geographic coordinates: 36 48 N, 10 11 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions24 governorates (wilayat, singular - wilayah); Beja (Bajah), Ben Arous (Bin 'Arus), Bizerte (Banzart), Gabes (Qabis), Gafsa (Qafsah), Jendouba (Jundubah), Kairouan (Al Qayrawan), Kasserine (Al Qasrayn), Kebili (Qibili), Kef (Al Kaf), L'Ariana (Aryanah), Mahdia (Al Mahdiyah), Manouba (Manubah), Medenine (Madanin), Monastir (Al Munastir), Nabeul (Nabul), Sfax (Safaqis), Sidi Bouzid (Sidi Bu Zayd), Siliana (Silyanah), Sousse (Susah), Tataouine (Tatawin), Tozeur (Tawzar), Tunis, Zaghouan (Zaghwan)
Constitutionseveral previous; latest approved by Constituent Assembly 26 January 2014 (2014)
Executive branchnote: the interim government remains in power pending a general election slated for late 2014
chief of state: President Moncef MARZOUKI (since 12 December 2011)
head of government: Prime Minister Mehdi JOMAA (since 29 January 2014)
cabinet: selected by the prime minister and approved by the Constituent Assembly
elections: president elected by Constituent Assembly; election last held on 12 December 2011 (next to be held NA); prime minister appointed by the president
election results: President MARZOUKI re-elected president; Constituent Assembly vote - 153 of 156
Flag descriptionred with a white disk in the center bearing a red crescent nearly encircling a red five-pointed star; resembles the Ottoman flag (red banner with white crescent and star) and recalls Tunisia's history as part of the Ottoman Empire; red represents the blood shed by martyrs in the struggle against oppression, white stands for peace; the crescent and star are traditional symbols of Islam
note: the flag is based on that of Turkey, itself a successor state to the Ottoman Empire
Independence20 March 1956 (from France)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Court of Cassation or Cour de Cassation (organized into civil and criminal chambers and consists of NA judges)
judge selection and term of office: judges nominated by the Higher Magistracy Council (also called the Superior Council of the Judiciary), a 7-member body of judges and prosecutors; judges appointed by presidential decree; judge tenure NA
subordinate courts: Administrative Court; Courts of Appeal; Housing Court; courts of first instance; lower district courts; military courts
Legal systemmixed legal system of civil law, based on the French civil code, and Islamic law; some judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court in joint session
Legislative branchunicameral Constituent Assembly (217 seats); note - the legislative role of the Constituent Assembly remains unclear
elections: initial election of 217 Constituent Assembly members held on 23 October 2011 (next to be held NA)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - al-Nahda 89, CPR 29, Popular Petition 26, FDTL 20, PDP 16, PDM 5, The Initiative 5, Afek Tounes 4, PCOT 3, other minor parties each with fewer than three seats 20
International organization participationABEDA, AfDB, AFESD, AMF, AMU, AU, BSEC (observer), CD, EBRD, FAO, G-11, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), LAS, MIGA, MONUSCO, NAM, OAPEC, OAS (observer), OIC, OIF, OPCW, OSCE (partner), UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNOCI, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
National holidayIndependence Day, 20 March (1956); Revolution and Youth Day, 14 January (2011)
Political pressure groups and leaders18 October Group (collective leadership); Tunisian League for Human Rights or LTDH (Mokhtar TRIFI); Tunisian General Labor Union or UGTT (Hassine ABASSI)
Political parties and leadersAfek Tounes (Emna MINF)
Alliance for Tunisia (a coalition of Tunisia's Call (Beji Caid ESSEBSI), Republican Party (Maya JRIBI and Najib CHBBI),Democratic Path (Ahmed BRAHIM))
al-Nahda (The Renaissance) (Rachid GHANNOUCHI)
Congress Party for the Republic or CPR (Moncef MARZOUKI)
Democratic Forum for Labor and Liberties or FDTL (Ettakatol) (Mustapha Ben JAAFAR)
Democratic Modernist Pole or PDM (a coalition)
Democratic Socialist Movement or MDS
Et-Tajdid Movement (Ahmed IBRAHIM)
Green Party for Progress or PVP (Mongi KHAMASSI)
Liberal Social Party or PSL (Mondher THABET)
Movement of Socialist Democrats or MDS (Ismail BOULAHYA)
Popular Petition (Aridha Chaabia) (Hachemi HAMDI)
Popular Unity Party or PUP (Mohamed BOUCHIHA)
Progressive Democratic Party or PDP (Maya JERIBI)
The Initiative (Kamel MORJANE) (formerly the Constitutional Democratic Rally or RCD)
Tunisian Workers' Communist Party or PCOT (Hamma HAMMAMI)
Unionist Democratic Union or UDU (Ahmed INOUBLI)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal except for active government security forces (including the police and the military), people with mental disabilities, people who have served more than three months in prison (criminal cases only), and people given a suspended sentence of more than six months
Government typerepublic
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Mhamed Ezzine CHELAIFA (since 10 March 2014)
chancery: 1515 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20005
telephone: (1) (202) 862-1850
FAX: (1) (202) 862-1858
National anthemname: "Humat Al Hima" (Defenders of the Homeland)
lyrics/music: Mustafa Sadik AL-RAFII and Aboul-Qacem ECHEBBI/Mohamad Abdel WAHAB
note: adopted 1957, replaced 1958, restored 1987; Mohamad Abdel WAHAB also composed the music for the anthem of the United Arab Emirates
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
National symbol(s)encircled red star and crescent
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador Jake WALLES (since 24 July 2012)
embassy: Zone Nord-Est des Berges du Lac Nord de Tunis 1053
mailing address: use embassy street address
telephone: (216) 71 107-000
FAX: (216) 71 963-263