unbekannter Gast

Kyrgyzstan: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Kyrgyz Republic
conventional short form: Kyrgyzstan
local long form: Kyrgyz Respublikasy
local short form: Kyrgyzstan
former: Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republic
CapitalBishkek Bishkek
geographic coordinates: 42 52 N, 74 36 E
time difference: UTC+6 (11 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions7 provinces (oblustar, singular - oblus) and 2 cities* (shaarlar, singular - shaar); Batken Oblusu, Bishkek Shaary*, Chuy Oblusu (Bishkek), Jalal-Abad Oblusu, Naryn Oblusu, Osh Oblusu, Osh Shaary*, Talas Oblusu, Ysyk-Kol Oblusu (Karakol)
note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)
Constitutionprevious 1993; latest adopted 27 June 2010, effective 2 July 2010 (2010)
Executive branchchief of state: President Almazbek ATAMBAEV (since 1 December 2011)
head of government: Prime Minister Joomart OTORBAEV (since 2 April 2014, acting since 26 March 2014); First Deputy Prime Minister Tayyrbek SARPASHEV (since 2 April 2014); Deputy Prime Ministers Valeriy DIL, Abdyrakhman MAMATALIEV, Elvira SARIEVA (all since 2 April 2014)
cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers proposed by the prime minister, appointed by the president; ministers in charge of defense and security are appointed solely by the president
elections: president elected by popular vote for one six-year term; election last held on 30 October 2011 (next to be held in 2017); prime minister nominated by the parliamentary party holding more than 50% of the seats; if no such party exists, the president selects the party that will form a coalition majority and government
election results: Almazbek ATAMBAEV elected president; percent of vote - Almazbek ATAMBAEV 63.2%, Adakhan MADUMAROV 14.7%, Kamchybek TASHIEV 14.3%, other 7.8%; Jantoro SATYBALDIEV elected prime minister; parliamentary vote - 111-2
Flag descriptionred field with a yellow sun in the center having 40 rays representing the 40 Kyrgyz tribes; on the obverse side the rays run counterclockwise, on the reverse, clockwise; in the center of the sun is a red ring crossed by two sets of three lines, a stylized representation of a "tunduk" - the crown of a traditional Kyrgyz yurt; red symbolizes bravery and valor, the sun evinces peace and wealth
Independence31 August 1991 (from the Soviet Union)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court (consists of 25 judges); Constitutional Court (consists of 9 judges)
judge selection and term of office: Supreme Court and Constitutional Court judges appointed by the Supreme Council on the recommendation of the president; Supreme Court judges serve for 10 years, Constitutional Court judges serve for 15 years; mandatory retirement at age 70 for judges of both courts
subordinate courts: Higher Court of Arbitration; oblast (provincial) and city courts
Legal systemcivil law system which includes features of French civil law and Russian Federation laws
Legislative branchunicameral Supreme Council or Jogorku Kengesh (120 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 10 October 2010 (next to be held in 2015)
election results: Supreme Council - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Ata-Jurt 28, SDPK 26, Ar-Namys 25, Respublika 23, Ata-Meken 18
International organization participationADB, CICA, CIS, CSTO, EAEC, EAPC, EBRD, ECO, EITI (compliant country), FAO, GCTU, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (NGOs), ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO (correspondent), ITSO, ITU, MIGA, NAM (observer), OIC, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, PFP, SCO, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNISFA, UNMIL, UNMISS, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
National holidayIndependence Day, 31 August (1991)
Political pressure groups and leadersAdilet (Justice) Legal Clinic (Cholpon JAKUPOVA)
Citizens Against Corruption (Tolekan ISMAILOVA)
Coalition for Democracy and Civil Society (Dinara OSHURAKHUNOVA)
Kylym Shamy (Torch of the Century) (Aziza ABDIRASULOVA)
Precedent Partnership Group (Nurbek TOKTAKUNOV)
Societal Analysis Public Association (Rita KARASARTOVA)
Union of True Muslims (Nurlan MOTUEV)
Political parties and leadersAr-Namys (Dignity) Party (Feliks KULOV)
Ata-Jurt (Homeland) (Kamchybek TASHIEV, Akhmat KELDIBEKOV, Sadyr JAPAROV)
Ata-Meken (Fatherland) (Omurbek TEKEBAEV)
Butun Kyrgyzstan (All Kyrgyzstan) (Adakhan MADUMAROV)
Respublika (Omurbek BABANOV)
Social-Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK) (Almazbek ATAMBAEV)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typerepublic
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Mukhtar JUMALIEV (since 7 December 2010)
chancery: 2360 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20008
telephone: (1) (202) 449-9822
FAX: (1) (202) 386-7550
consulate(s): New York
National anthemname: "Kyrgyz Respublikasynyn Mamlekettik Gimni" (National Anthem of the Kyrgyz Republic)
lyrics/music: Djamil SADYKOV and Eshmambet KULUEV/Nasyr DAVLESOV and Kalyi MOLDOBASANOV
note: adopted 1992
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
National symbol(s)gyrfalcon
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador Pamela L. SPRATLEN (since 15 April 2011)
embassy: 171 Prospect Mira, Bishkek 720016
mailing address: use embassy street address
telephone: (996) (312) 551-241, (517) 777-217
FAX: (996) (312) 551-264