unbekannter Gast

Solomon Islands: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Solomon Islands
local long form: none
local short form: Solomon Islands
former: British Solomon Islands
CapitalHoniara Honiara
geographic coordinates: 9 26 S, 159 57 E
time difference: UTC+11 (16 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions9 provinces and 1 city*; Central, Choiseul, Guadalcanal, Honiara*, Isabel, Makira and Ulawa, Malaita, Rennell and Bellona, Temotu, Western
Constitutionadopted 31 May 1978, effective 7 July 1978; amended several times, last in 2010 (2012)
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor General Frank KABUI (since 7 July 2009)
head of government: Prime Minister Gordon Darcy LILO (since 16 November 2011)
cabinet: Cabinet consists of 20 members appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister from among the members of parliament
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch on the advice of parliament for up to five years (eligible for a second term); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of a majority coalition usually elected prime minister by parliament; deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister from among the members of parliament; Gordon Darcy LILO elected on 16 November 2011
Flag descriptiondivided diagonally by a thin yellow stripe from the lower hoist-side corner; the upper triangle (hoist side) is blue with five white five-pointed stars arranged in an X pattern; the lower triangle is green; blue represents the ocean; green the land; and yellow sunshine; the five stars stand for the five main island groups of the Solomon Islands
Independence7 July 1978 (from the UK)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the court president, and ex officio members to include the High Court chief justice and its puisne judges); High Court (consists of the chief justice and puisne judges as prescribed by the National Parliament)
judge selection and term of office: Court of Appeal and High Court president, chief justices, and puisne judges appointed by the governor-general upon recommendation of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission, chaired by the chief justice to include 5 members, mostly judicial officials and legal professionals; all judges appointed until retirement at age 60
subordinate courts: Magistrates' Courts; local courts; Customary Land Appeal Court
Legal systemmixed legal system of English common law and customary law
Legislative branchunicameral National Parliament (50 seats; members elected from single-member constituencies by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
elections: last held on 4 August 2010 (next to be held in 2014)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - SIDP 14, OUR 4, SIPRA 3, RDP 3, IDP 2, DDP 2, PCP 1, PFP 1, RUPP 1, SILP 1, SINP 1, independents 17
International organization participationACP, ADB, AOSIS, C, EITI (candidate country), ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, IOC, ITU, MIGA, OPCW, PIF, Sparteca, SPC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTO
National holidayIndependence Day, 7 July (1978)
Political pressure groups and leadersIsatabu Freedom Movement (IFM)
Malaita Eagle Force (MEF)
note: these rival armed ethnic factions crippled the Solomon Islands in a wave of violence from 1999 to 2003
Political parties and leadersDirect Development Party or DDP (Dick HA'AMORI)
Independent Democratic Party or IDP (Snyder RINI)
People's Alliance Party or PAP (James MEKAB)
People's Congress Party or PCP (Fred FONO)
People's Federation Party or PFP (Rudolf DORA)
Ownership, Unity, and Responsibility Party or OUR (Manasseh SOGAVARE)
Reform Democratic Party or RDP (Danny PHILIP)
Rural and Urban Political Party or RUPP (Samuel MANETOALI)
Solomon Islands Democratic Party or SIDP (Steve ABANA)
Solomon Islands Liberal Party or SILP (Derek SIKUA)
Solomon Islands National Party or SINP (Francis HILLY)
Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement or SIPRA (Job D. TAUSINGA)
United Party (Sir Peter KENILOREA)
note: in general, Solomon Islands politics is characterized by fluid coalitions
Suffrage21 years of age; universal
Government typeparliamentary democracy and a Commonwealth realm
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Collin David BECK (since 31 March 2004)
chancery: 800 Second Avenue, Suite 400L, New York, NY 10017
telephone: (1) (212) 599-6192, 6193
FAX: (1) (212) 661-8925
National anthemname: "God Save Our Solomon Islands"
lyrics/music: Panapasa BALEKANA and Matila BALEKANA/Panapasa BALEKANA
note: adopted 1978
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
Diplomatic representation from the USthe US does not have an embassy in the Solomon Islands; the US ambassador to Papua New Guinea, currently Ambassador Walter E. North, is accredited to the Solomon Islands