unbekannter Gast

Norway: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Kingdom of Norway
conventional short form: Norway
local long form: Kongeriket Norge
local short form: Norge
CapitalOslo Oslo
geographic coordinates: 59 55 N, 10 45 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Administrative divisions19 counties (fylker, singular - fylke); Akershus, Aust-Agder, Buskerud, Finnmark, Hedmark, Hordaland, More og Romsdal, Nordland, Nord-Trondelag, Oppland, Oslo, Ostfold, Rogaland, Sogn og Fjordane, Sor-Trondelag, Telemark, Troms, Vest-Agder, Vestfold
Constitutiondrafted spring 1814, adopted 16 May 1814, signed by Constituent Assembly 17 May 1814; amended many times, last in 2012 (2012)
Dependent areasBouvet Island, Jan Mayen, Svalbard
Executive branchchief of state: King HARALD V (since 17 January 1991); Heir Apparent Crown Prince HAAKON MAGNUS, son of the monarch (born 20 July 1973)
head of government: Prime Minister Erna SOLBERG (since 16 October 2013)
cabinet: State Council appointed by the monarch with the approval of parliament
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; following parliamentary elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually appointed prime minister by the monarch with the approval of the parliament
Flag descriptionred with a blue cross outlined in white that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in the style of the Dannebrog (Danish flag); the colors recall Norway's past political unions with Denmark (red and white) and Sweden (blue)
Independence7 June 1905 (Norway declared the union with Sweden dissolved); 26 October 1905 (Sweden agreed to the repeal of the union)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court or Hoyesterett (consists of the chief justice and 18 associate justices)
note - in addition to professionally trained judges, there are elected lay judges that sit on the bench with professional judges in the Courts of Appeal and district courts
judge selection and term of office: justices appointed by the monarch (King in Council) upon the recommendation of the Judicial Appointments Board; justice retirement mandatory at age 70
subordinate courts: Courts of Appeal or Lagmensrett; regional and district courts; Conciliation Boards; ordinary and special courts
Legal systemmixed legal system of civil, common, and customary law; Supreme Court can advise on legislative acts
Legislative branchmodified unicameral Parliament or Storting (169 seats; members elected by popular vote by proportional representation to serve four-year terms)
elections: last held on 9 September 2013 (next to be held in September 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party - Ap 30.8%, H 26.3%, FrP 16.3%, KrF 5.6%, Sp 5.5%, V 5.2%, SV 4.1%, MDG 2.8, other 2.7%; seats by party - Ap 55, H 48, FrP 29, Sp 10, KrF 10, V 9, SV 7, MDG 1
International organization participationADB (nonregional member), AfDB (nonregional member), Arctic Council, Australia Group, BIS, CBSS, CD, CE, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, EFTA, EITI (implementing country), ESA, FAO, FATF, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IGAD (partners), IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA, MINUSMA, MONUSCO, NATO, NC, NEA, NIB, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OPCW, OSCE, Paris Club, PCA, Schengen Convention, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNITAR, UNMISS, UNRWA, UNTSO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO, ZC
National holidayConstitution Day, 17 May (1814)
Political pressure groups and leadersConfederation of Norwegian Enterprise (Naeringslivets Hovedorganisasjon) or NHO (President Tore ULSTEIN; CEO Kristin SKOGEN LUND)
Norwegian Confederation of Trade Unions (Landsorganisasjonen i Norge) or LO (Gerd KRISTIANSEN)
other: environmental groups; media; digital privacy movements
Political parties and leadersCenter Party or Sp (Liv Signe NAVARSETE)
Christian Democratic Party or KrF (Knut Arild HAREIDE)
Conservative Party or H (Erna SOLBERG)
Labor Party or Ap (Jens STOLTENBERG)
Liberal Party or V (Trine SKEI-GRANDE)
Progress Party or FrP (Siv JENSEN)
Socialist Left Party or SV (Audun LYSBAKKEN)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeconstitutional monarchy
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Kare Reidar AAS (since 22 August 2013)
chancery: 2720 34th Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
telephone: (1) (202) 333-6000
FAX: (1) (202) 469-3990
consulate(s) general: Houston, New York, San Francisco
National anthemname: "Ja, vi elsker dette landet" (Yes, We Love This Country)
lyrics/music: lyrics/music: Bjornstjerne BJORNSON/Rikard NORDRAAK
note: adopted 1864; in addition to the national anthem, "Kongesangen" (Song of the King), which uses the tune of "God Save the Queen," serves as the royal anthem
International law organization participationaccepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction with reservations; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
National symbol(s)lion
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Julie Furuta-Toy (since 27 September 2013)
embassy: Henrik Ibsens gate 48, 0244 Oslo; note - the embassy will move to Huseby in the near future
mailing address: PSC 69, Box 1000, APO AE 09707
telephone: (47) 21-30-85-40
FAX: (47) 22-44-33-63, 22-56-27-51