unbekannter Gast

Anguilla: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Anguilla
CapitalThe Valley The Valley
geographic coordinates: 18 13 N, 63 03 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Dependency statusoverseas territory of the UK
Administrative divisionsnone (overseas territory of the UK)
Constitutionseveral previous; latest 1 April 1982; amended 1990 (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor Christina SCOTT (since 23 July 2013)
head of government: Chief Minister Hubert HUGHES (since 16 February 2010)
cabinet: Executive Council appointed by the governor from among the elected members of the House of Assembly
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually appointed chief minister by the governor
Flag descriptionblue, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Anguillan coat of arms centered in the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms depicts three orange dolphins in an interlocking circular design on a white background with a turquoise-blue field below; the white in the background represents peace; the blue base symbolizes the surrounding sea, as well as faith, youth, and hope; the three dolphins stand for endurance, unity, and strength
Independencenone (overseas territory of the UK)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) is the itinerant superior court of record for the 9-member Organization of Eastern Caribbean States to include Anguilla; the ECSC - headquartered on St. Lucia - is headed by the chief justice and is comprised of the Court of Appeal with 3 justices and the High Court with 16 judges; sittings of the Court of Appeal and High Court rotate among the 9 member states; High Court judges reside in 7 member states, though none resides on Anguilla
judge selection and term of office: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court chief justice appointed by Her Majesty, Queen ELIZABETH II; other justices and judges appointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission; Court of Appeal justices appointed for life with mandatory retirement at age 65; High Court judges appointed for life with mandatory retirement at age 62
subordinate courts: Magistrate's Court; Juvenile Court
Legal systemcommon law based on the English model
Legislative branchunicameral House of Assembly (11 seats; 7 members elected by direct popular vote, 2 ex officio members, and 2 appointed; members serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 15 February 2010 (next to be held in 2015)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - AUM 4, AUF 2, APP 1
International organization participationCaricom (associate), CDB, Interpol (subbureau), OECS, UPU
National holidayAnguilla Day, 30 May (1967)
Political parties and leadersAnguilla Progressive Party or APP (Brent DAVIS)
Anguilla Strategic Alternative or ANSA (Edison BAIRD)
Anguilla United Front or AUF (Osbourne FLEMING, Victor BANKS) (a coalition of the Anguilla Democratic Party or ADP and the Anguilla National Alliance or ANA)
Anguilla United Movement or AUM (Hubert HUGHES)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeNA
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)
National anthemname: "God Bless Anguilla"
lyrics/music: Alex RICHARDSON
note: local anthem adopted 1981; as a territory of the United Kingdom, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)
National symbol(s)dolphin
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)