unbekannter Gast

Bermuda: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Bermuda
former: Somers Islands
CapitalHamilton Hamilton
geographic coordinates: 32 17 N, 64 47 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins second Sunday in March; ends first Sunday in November
Dependency statusoverseas territory of the UK
Administrative divisions9 parishes and 2 municipalities*; Devonshire, Hamilton, Hamilton*, Paget, Pembroke, Saint George*, Saint George's, Sandys, Smith's, Southampton, Warwick
Constitutionseveral previous (dating to 1684); latest entered into force 8 June 1968; amended several times, last in 2003 (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor George FERGUSSON (since 23 May 2012)
head of government: Premier Michael DUNKLEY (since 20 May 2014)
cabinet: Cabinet nominated by the premier, appointed by the governor
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually appointed premier by the governor
Flag descriptionred, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Bermudian coat of arms (a white shield with a red lion standing on a green grassy field holding a scrolled shield showing the sinking of the ship Sea Venture off Bermuda in 1609) centered on the outer half of the flag; it was the shipwreck of the vessel, filled with English colonists originally bound for Virginia, that led to settling of Bermuda
note: the flag is unusual in that it is only British overseas territory that uses a red ensign, all others use blue
Independencenone (overseas territory of the UK)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the court president and 4 justices); Supreme Court (consists of the chief justice, 4 puisne judges, and 1 associate justice)
note - the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council, in London, is the court of last resort
judge selection and term of office: Court of Appeal justice appointed by the governor; justice tenure by individual appointment; Supreme Court judges nominated by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission and appointed by the governor; judge tenure NA
subordinate courts: commercial court (began in 2006); magistrates' courts
Legal systemEnglish common law
Legislative branchbicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (11 seats; members appointed by the governor, the premier, and the opposition to serve a five-year term) and the House of Assembly (36 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve up to five-year terms)
elections: last held on 17 December 2012 (next to be held not later than 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party - OBA 51.7%, PLP 46.1%, other 2.2%; seats by party - OBA 19, PLP 17
International organization participationCaricom (associate), ICC (NGOs), Interpol (subbureau), IOC, ITUC (NGOs), UPU, WCO
National holidayBermuda Day, 24 May
Political pressure groups and leadersAssociation of Bermuda Insurers and Reinsurers or ABIR (Bradley KADING); Association of Bermuda International Companies or ABIC (George HUTCHINGS); Bermuda Employer's Council (Keith JENSEN); Bermuda Industrial Union or BIU (Chris Furbert); Bermuda Public Services Union or BPSU (Kevin GRANT and Ed BALL); Bermuda Union of Teachers (Michael CHARLES)
Political parties and leadersProgressive Labor Party or PLP (Marc BEAN); One Bermuda Alliance or OBA (Thad HOLLIS)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeparliamentary; self-governing territory
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)
National anthemname: "Hail to Bermuda"
lyrics/music: Bette JOHNS
note: serves as a local anthem; as a territory of the United Kingdom, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
National symbol(s)red lion
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Consul General Robert SETTJE (since August 2012)
consulate(s) general: Crown Hill, 16 Middle Road, Devonshire DVO3
mailing address: P. O. Box HM325, Hamilton HMBX; American Consulate General Hamilton, US Department of State, 5300 Hamilton Place, Washington, DC 20520-5300
telephone: (1) (441) 295-1342
FAX: (1) (441) 295-1592, 296-9233