unbekannter Gast

Cayman Islands: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Cayman Islands
etymology: the islands' name comes from the native Carib word "caiman," describing the marine crocodiles living there
Dependency statusoverseas territory of the UK
Government typeparliamentary democracy (Legislative Assembly); self-governing overseas territory of the UK
CapitalGeorge Town (on Grand Cayman) George Town (on Grand Cayman)
geographic coordinates: 19 18 N, 81 23 W
time difference: UTC-5 (same time as Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: a decision has been made to introduce DST in the archipelago for the first time beginning in 2016; a date for implementation is pending, though it seems likely it will match the date used in the US and Canada
Administrative divisions6 districts; Bodden Town, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman, East End, George Town, North Side, West Bay
Independencenone (overseas territory of the UK)
National holidayConstitution Day, first Monday in July
Constitutionseveral previous; latest approved 10 June 2009, entered into force 6 November 2009 (The Cayman Islands Constitution Order 2009) (2016)
Legal systemEnglish common law and local statutes
Citizenshipsee United Kingdom
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor Helen KILPATRICK (since 6 September 2013)
head of government: Premier Alden MCLAUGHLIN (since 29 May 2013)
cabinet: The Cabinet (6 members selected from the Legislative Assembly and appointed by the governor on the advice of the premier)
elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition appointed premier by the governor
Legislative branchdescription: unicameral Legislative Assembly (20 seats; 18 members directly elected by majority vote and 2 ex officio members - the deputy governor and attorney general - appointed by the governor; members serve 4-year terms)
elections: last held on 22 May 2013 (next to be held in 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party - PPM 36.1%, UDP 27.8%, C4C 18.6%, PNA 5.7%, independent 11.9%; seats by party - PPM 9, UDP 3, C4C 3, PNA 1, independent 2
Judicial branchhighest resident court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the court president and at least 2 judges); Grand Court (consists of the court president and at least 2 judges); note - appeals beyond the Court of Appeal are heard by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (in London)
judge selection and term of office: Court of Appeal and Grand Court judges appointed by the governor on the advice of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission, an 8-member independent body consisting of governor appointees, Court of Appeal president, and attorneys; Court of Appeal judges' tenure based on their individual instruments of appointment; Grand Court judges normally appointed until retirement at age 65 but can be extended until age 70
subordinate courts: Summary Court
Political parties and leadersPeople's Progressive Movement or PPM (Kurt TIBBETTS)
United Democratic Party or UDP (McKeeva BUSH)
Political pressure groups and leadersCoalition for Cayman or C4C
National People's Alliance or PNA
National Trustother: environmentalists
International organization participationCaricom (associate), CDB, Interpol (subbureau), IOC, UNESCO (associate), UPU
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (overseas territory of the UK); consular services provided through the US Embassy in Jamaica
Flag descriptiona blue field with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Caymanian coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms includes a crest with a pineapple, representing the connection with Jamaica, and a turtle, representing Cayman's seafaring tradition, above a shield bearing a golden lion, symbolizing Great Britain, below which are three green stars (representing the three islands) surmounting white and blue wavy lines representing the sea and a scroll at the bottom bearing the motto HE HATH FOUNDED IT UPON THE SEAS
National symbol(s)green sea turtle
National anthemname: "Beloved Isle Cayman"
lyrics/music: Leila E. ROSS

note: adopted 1993; served as an unofficial anthem since 1930; as a territory of the United Kingdom, in addition to the local anthem, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)