unbekannter Gast

Curacao: Government#

Country nameDutch long form: Land Curacao
Dutch short form: Curacao
Papiamentu long form: Pais Korsou
Papiamentu short form: Korsou
former: Netherlands Antilles; Curacao and Dependencies
CapitalWillemstad Willemstad
geographic coordinates: 12 06 N, 68 55 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Dependency statusconstituent country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands; full autonomy in internal affairs granted in 2010; Dutch Government responsible for defense and foreign affairs
Administrative divisionsnone (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)
Constitutionprevious 1947, 1955; latest adopted 5 September 2010, entered into force 10 October 2010 (regulates governance of Curacao but is subordinate to the Charter for the Kingdom of the Netherlands); note - in October 2010, with the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles, Curacao became a constituent country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: King WILLEM-ALEXANDER of the Netherlands (since 30 April 2013); represented by Governor Lucille A. GEORGE-WOUT (since 4 November 2013)
head of government: Prime Minister Ivar ASJES (since 7 June 2013)
cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor
elections: the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party is usually elected prime minister by the parliament; next election is scheduled for 2016
Flag descriptionon a blue field a horizontal yellow band somewhat below the center divides the flag into proportions of 5:1:2; two five-pointed white stars - the smaller above and to the left of the larger - appear in the canton; the blue of the upper and lower sections symbolizes the sky and sea respectively; yellow represents the sun; the stars symbolize Curacao and its uninhabited smaller sister island of Klein Curacao; the five star points signify the five continents from which Curacao's people derive
Independencenone (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)
Judicial branchhighest court(s):
Legal systembased on Dutch civil law system with some English common law influence
Legislative branchunicameral Estates of Curacao (21 seats; members elected by popular vote for four year terms)
elections: last held 19 October 2012 (next to be held in 2016)
election results: percent of vote by party - PS 22.6%, MFK 21.2%, PAR 19.7%, PAIS 17.7%, MAN 9.5%, PNP 5.9%, other 3.4%; seats by party - PS 5, MFK 5, PAR 4, PAIS 4, MAN 2, PNP 1
National holidayQueen's Day (Birthday of Queen-Mother JULIANA and accession to the throne of her oldest daughter BEATRIX), 30 April (1909 and 1980)
Political parties and leadersFrente Obrero Liberashon (Workers' Liberation Front) or FOL (Anthony GODETT)
Movementu Futuro Korsou or MFK (Gerrit SCHOTTE)
Movishon Antia Nobo or MAN (Eunice EISDEN)
Partido Antia Restruktura or PAR (Emily DE JONGH-ELHAGE)
Partido pa Adelanto I Inovashon Soshal or PAIS (Alex ROSARIA)
Partido Nashonal di Pueblo or PNP (Humphrey DAVELAAR)
Pueblo Soberano or PS (Helmin WIELS)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeparliamentary
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (represented by the Kingdom of the Netherlands)
National anthemname: Himmo di Korsou (Anthem of Curacao)
lyrics/music: Guillermo ROSARIO, Mae HENRIQUEZ, Enrique MULLER, Betty DORAN/Frater Candidus NOWENS, Errol "El Toro" COLINA
note: adapted 1978; the lyrics, originally written in 1899, were rewritten in 1978 to make them less colonial in nature
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Consul General James R. Moore (since June 2013); note - also accredited to Aruba and Sint Martin
consulate(s) general: J. B. Gorsiraweg #1, Willemstad, Curacao
mailing address: P. O. Box 158, Willemstad, Curacao
telephone: (599) (9) 4613066
FAX: (599) (9) 4616489