unbekannter Gast

Faroe Islands: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Faroe Islands
local long form: none
local short form: Foroyar
CapitalTorshavn Torshavn
geographic coordinates: 62 00 N, 6 46 W
time difference: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Dependency statuspart of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark since 1948
Administrative divisionsnone (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 34 municipalities
Constitution5 June 1953 (Danish Constitution), 23 March 1948 (Home Rule Act), and 24 June 2005 (Takeover Act ) serve as the Faroe Islands’ constitutional position in the Unity of the Realm (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: Queen MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Dan Michael KNUDSEN, chief administrative officer (since 2008)
head of government: Prime Minister Kaj Leo JOHANNESSEN (since 26 September 2008)
cabinet: Landsstyri appointed by the prime minister
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; high commissioner appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by the Faroese Parliament; election last held on 14 November 2011 (next to be held no later than November 2015)
election results: Kaj Leo JOHANNESSEN reelected prime minister in 2011
Flag descriptionwhite with a red cross outlined in blue extending to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted toward the hoist side in the style of the Dannebrog (Danish flag); referred to as Merkid, meaning "the banner" or "the mark," the flag resembles those of neighboring Iceland and Norway, and uses the same three colors - but in a different sequence; white represents the clear Faroese sky as well as the foam of the waves; red and blue are traditional Faroese colors
Independencenone (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)
Judicial branchthe Faroese Court or Raett (Rett - Danish) decides both civil and criminal cases; the Court is part of the Danish legal system
Legal systemthe laws of Denmark, where applicable, apply
Legislative branchunicameral Faroese Parliament or Logting (33 seats; members elected by popular vote on a proportional basis from the seven constituencies to serve four-year terms)
elections: last held on 29 October 2011 (next to be held no later than October 2015)
election results: percent of vote by party - Union Party 24.7%, People's Party 22.5%, Republican Party 18.3%, Social Democratic Party 17.7%, Progressive Party 6.3%, Center Party 6.2%, Independence Party 4.2%, other 0.1%; seats by party - Union Party 8, People's Party 8, Republican Party 6, Social Democratic Party 6, Progressive Party 2, Center Party 2, Independence Party 1
note: election of two seats to the Danish Parliament was last held on 15 September 2011 (next to be held no later than September 2015); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Social Democratic Party 1, Union Party 1
International organization participationArctic Council, IMO (associate), NC, NIB, UNESCO (associate), UPU
National holidayOlaifest (Olavsoka), 29 July
Political pressure groups and leadersconservationists
Political parties and leadersCenter Party (Midflokkurin) (Jenis av RANA)
Independence Party (Sjalvstyrisflokkurin) (Kari P. HOJGAARD)
People's Party (Folkaflokkurin) (Jorgen NICLASEN)
Progressive Party (Framsokn) (Poul MICHELSEN)
Republican Party (Tjodveldi) (Hogni HOYDAL)
Social Democratic Party (Javnadarflokkurin) (Aksel JOHANNESEN)
Union Party (Sambandsflokkurin) (Kaj Leo JOHANNESEN)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeNA
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)
National anthemname: "Mitt alfagra land" (My Fairest Land)
lyrics/music: Simun av SKAROI/Peter ALBERG
note: adopted 1948; the anthem is also known as "Tu alfagra land mitt" (Thou Fairest Land of Mine); as an autonomous overseas division of Denmark, the Faroe Islands are permitted their own national anthem
National symbol(s)ram
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)