unbekannter Gast

Greenland: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Greenland
local long form: none
local short form: Kalaallit Nunaat
CapitalNuuk (Godthab) Nuuk (Godthab)
geographic coordinates: 64 11 N, 51 45 W
time difference: UTC-3 (2 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
note: Greenland has four time zones
Dependency statuspart of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark since 1979
Administrative divisions4 municipalities (kommuner, singular kommune); Kujalleq, Qaasuitsup, Qeqqata, Sermersooq
note: the North and East Greenland National Park (Avannaarsuani Tunumilu Nuna Allanngutsaaliugaq) and the Thule Air Base in Pituffik (in northwest Greenland) are two unincorporated areas; the national park's 972,000 sq km - about 46% of the island - make it the largest national park in the world and also the most northerly
Constitutionprevious 1953 (Greenland established as a constituency in the Danish constitution), 1979 (Greenland Home Rule Act); latest 21 June 2009 (Greenland Self-Government Act) (2009)
Executive branchchief of state: Queen MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Mikaela ENGELL (since April 2011)
head of government: Prime Minister Aleqa HAMMOND (since 13 March 2013)
cabinet: Home Rule Government elected by the Parliament (Landsting) on the basis of the strength of parties
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; high commissioner appointed by the monarch; prime minister elected by parliament (usually the leader of the majority party)
election results: Aleqa HAMMOND elected prime minister
Flag descriptiontwo equal horizontal bands of white (top) and red with a large disk slightly to the hoist side of center - the top half of the disk is red, the bottom half is white; the design represents the sun reflecting off a field of ice; the colors are the same as those of the Danish flag and symbolize Greenland's links to the Kingdom of Denmark
Independencenone (extensive self-rule as part of the Kingdom of Denmark; foreign affairs is the responsibility of Denmark, but Greenland actively participates in international agreements relating to Greenland)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): High Court of Greenland (consists of the presiding professional judge and 2 lay assessors)
note - appeals beyond the High Court of Greenland can be heard by the Supreme Court (in Copenhagen)
judge selection and term of office: judges appointed by the monarch upon the recommendation of the Judicial Appointments Council, a 6-member independent body of judges and lawyers; judges appointed for life with retirement at age 70
subordinate courts: Court of Greenland; 18 district or magistrates' courts
Legal systemthe laws of Denmark apply
Legislative branchunicameral Parliament or Inatsisartut (Landsting) (31 seats; members elected by popular vote on the basis of proportional representation to serve four-year terms)
elections: last held on 13 March 2013 (next to be held by 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party - S 42.8%, IA 34.4%, A 8.1%, PI 6.4%; D 6.2%; other 2.1%; seats by party - S 14, IA 11, A 2, PI 2, D 2
note: two representatives were elected to the Danish Parliament or Folketing on 15 September 2011 (next to be held by September 2015); percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Siumut 1, Inuit Ataqatigiit 1 (2013)
International organization participationArctic Council, ICC, NC, NIB, UPU
National holidayJune 21 (longest day)
Political pressure groups and leadersconservationists; environmentalists
Political parties and leadersCandidate List (Kattusseqatigiit) or K (Anthon FREDERIKSEN)
Democrats Party (Demokraatit) or D (Jens B. FREDERIKSEN)
Forward Party (Siumut) or S (Aleqa HAMMOND)
Inuit Community (Inuit Ataqatigiit) or IA (Kuupik KLEIST)
Inuit Party (Partii Inuit) or PI (Nikku OLSEN)
Solidarity Party (Atassut) or A (Gerhardt PETERSEN)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeparliamentary democracy within a constitutional monarchy
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)
National anthemname: "Nunarput utoqqarsuanngoravit" ("Our Country, Who's Become So Old" also translated as "You Our Ancient Land")
lyrics/music: Henrik LUND/Jonathan PETERSEN
note: adopted 1916; the government also recognizes "Nuna asiilasooq" as a secondary anthem
National symbol(s)polar bear
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)