unbekannter Gast

Hong Kong: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
conventional short form: Hong Kong
official long form: Xianggang Tebie Xingzhengqu
official short form: Xianggang
abbreviation: HK
Dependency statusspecial administrative region of China
Administrative divisionsnone (special administrative region of China)
Constitutionseveral previous (governance documents while under British authority); latest drafted April 1988 to February 1989, approved March 1990, promulgated 4 April 1990 (Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China serves as the constitution); note - since 1990, China's National People's Congress has interpreted specific articles of the Basic Law (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President of China XI Jinping (since 14 March 2013)
head of government: Chief Executive LEUNG Chun-ying (C.Y. LEUNG) (since 1 July 2012)
cabinet: Executive Council or ExCo consists of 15 official members and 14 non-official members
elections: chief executive elected for five-year term by a 1,200-member election committee; LEUNG Chun-ying (C.Y.LEUNG) was elected chief executiveon 25 March 2012 and took office on 1 July 2012; (next to be held in March 2017)
note: the Legislative Council voted in June 2010 to expand the electoral committee to 1,200 seats for the 2012 selection
election results: LEUNG Chun-ying was elected with 689 votes; Henry TANG with 285 votes, and Albert HO with 76 of the 1,132 votes cast; 82 ballots were deemed invalid; most were blank
Flag descriptionred with a stylized, white, five-petal Bauhinia flower in the center; each petal contains a small, red, five-pointed star in its middle; the red color is the same as that on the Chinese flag and represents the motherland; the fragrant Bauhinia - developed in Hong Kong the late 19th century - has come to symbolize the region; the five stars echo those on the flag of China
Independencenone (special administrative region of China)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Court of Final Appeal (consists of the chief justice, 3 permanent judges and 20 non-permanent judges); note - a sitting bench consists of the chief justice and 3 permanent and 1 non-permanent judges
judge selection and term of office: all judges appointed by the Hong Kong Chief Executive upon the recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission, an independent body consisting of the Secretary for Justice and other judges, judicial and legal professionals; permanent judges appointed until normal retirement at age 65, but can be extended; non-permanent judges appointed for renewable 3-year terms without age limit
subordinate courts: High Court (consists of the Court of Appeal and Court of First Instance); District Courts (includes Family and Land Courts); magistrates' courts; specialized tribunals
Legal systemmixed legal system of common law based on the English model and Chinese customary law (in matters of family and land tenure)
Legislative branchunicameral Legislative Council or LegCo (70 seats; 35 members indirectly elected by functional constituencies, 35 elected by popular vote; members serve four-year terms)
note: the LegCo voted in June 2010 to expand to 70 seats for the 2012 election; the measure was approved by the National People's Congress Standing Committee in August 2010
elections: last held on 9 September 2012 (next to be held in September 2016)
election results: percent of vote by block - pro-democracy 56%; pro-Beijing 41%, independent 3%; seats by parties - (pro-Beijing 43) DAB 13, BPA 7, FTU 6, Liberal Party 5, NPP 2, others 10; (pro-democracy 27) Democratic Party 6, Civic Party 6, Labor Party 4, People Power 3, Professional Commons 2, League of Social Democrats 1, ADPL 1, PTU 1, Neo Democrats 1, NWSC 1; independent 2
International organization participationADB, APEC, BIS, FATF, ICC (national committees), IHO, IMF, IMO (associate), Interpol (subbureau), IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITUC (NGOs), UNWTO (associate), UPU, WCO, WTO
National holidayNational Day (Anniversary of the Founding of the People's Republic of China), 1 October (1949); note - 1 July 1997 is celebrated as Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day
Political pressure groups and leadersChinese General Chamber of Commerce (pro-China); Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong; Confederation of Trade Unions or CTU (pro-democracy) (LEE Cheuk-yan, general secretary); Federation of Hong Kong Industries; Federation of Trade Unions or FTU (pro-China) (CHENG Yiu-tong, executive councilor); Hong Kong Alliance in Support of the Patriotic Democratic Movement in China (LEE Cheuk-yan, chairman); Hong Kong and Kowloon Trade Union Council (pro-Taiwan); Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce; Hong Kong Professional Teachers' Union (FUNG Wai-wah, president); Neighborhood and Workers' Service Center or NWSC (LEUNG Yiu-chung, LegCo member) (pro-democracy); Civic Act-up (Cyd HO Sau-lan, LegCo member) (pro-democracy)
Political parties and leadersparties: Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood or ADPL (Bruce LIU Sing-lee)
Business and Professional Alliance or BPA (Andrew LEUNG)
Civic Party (EU Audrey)
Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong or DAB (TAM Yiu-chung)
Democratic Party (Emily LAU)
Labor Party (LEE Cheuk-yan)
League of Social Democrats or LSD (LEUNG Kwok-hung)
Liberal Party (James TIEN)
Neo Democrats (joint leaders)
New People's Party (Regina IP Lau Su-yee)
People Power (Erica YUEN Mi-ming)
others: Confederation of Trade Unions or CTU
Federation of Trade Unions or FTU
Neighborhood and Workers Service Center or NWSC
Professional Commons (think tank) (Charles Peter MOK)
Professional Teachers Union or PTU
note: political blocs include: pro-democracy - ADPL, Civic Party, Democratic Party, Labor Party, LSD, People Power, Professional Commons; pro-Beijing - DAB, FTU, Liberal Party, New People's Party, BPA; there is no political party ordinance, so there are no registered political parties; politically active groups register as societies or companies
Suffrage18 years of age in direct elections for half the legislature and a majority of seats in 18 district councils; universal for permanent residents living in the territory of Hong Kong for the past seven years; note - in indirect elections, suffrage is limited to about 220,000 members of functional constituencies for the other half of the legislature and a 1,200-member election committee for the chief executive drawn from broad sectoral groupings, central government bodies, municipal organizations, and elected Hong Kong officials
Government typelimited democracy
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (Special Administrative Region of China); Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office (HKETO) carries out normal liaison and communication with the US Government and other US entities
commissioner: Clement C.M. LEUNG
office: 1520 18th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
telephone: (1) 202 331-8947
FAX: (1) 202 331-8958
HKETO offices: New York, San Francisco
National anthemnote: as a Special Administrative Region of China, "Yiyongjun Jinxingqu" is the official anthem (see China)
National symbol(s)orchid tree flower
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Consul General Clifford A. HART Jr. (since 30 July 2013); note - also accredited to Macau
consulate(s) general: 26 Garden Road, Hong Kong
mailing address: Unit 8000, Box 1, DPO AP 96521-0006
telephone: (852) 2523-9011
FAX: (852) 2845-1598