unbekannter Gast

Kosovo: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Republic of Kosovo
conventional short form: Kosovo
local long form: Republika e Kosoves (Republika Kosovo)
local short form: Kosova (Kosovo)
CapitalPristina (Prishtine, Prishtina) Pristina (Prishtine, Prishtina)
geographic coordinates: 42 40 N, 21 10 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Administrative divisions37 municipalities (komunat, singular - komuna (Albanian); opstine, singular - opstina (Serbian)); Decan (Decani), Dragash (Dragas), Ferizaj (Urosevac), Fushe Kosove (Kosovo Polje), Gjakove (Dakovica), Gjilan (Gnjilane), Gllogovc (Glogovac), Gracanice (Gracanica), Hani i Elezit (Deneral Jankovic), Istog (Istok), Junik, Kacanik, Kamenice/Dardana (Kamenica), Kline (Klina), Kllokot (Klokot), Leposaviq (Leposavic), Lipjan (Lipljan), Malisheve (Malisevo), Mamushe (Mamusa), Mitrovice (Mitrovica), Novoberde (Novo Brdo), Obiliq (Obilic), Partesh (Partes), Peje (Pec), Podujeve (Podujevo), Prishtine (Pristina), Prizren, Rahovec (Orahovac), Ranillug (Ranilug), Shterpce (Strpce), Shtime (Stimlje), Skenderaj (Srbica), Suhareke (Suva Reka), Viti (Vitina), Vushtrri (Vucitrn), Zubin Potok, Zvecan; note - a 38th municipality (Mitrovica e Veriut/Severna Mitrovica (Mitrovica North)) may have been created; when/if approved by the US Board on Geographic Names it will be added to the above listing
Constitutionprevious 1974, 1990; latest (postindependence) draft finalized 2 April 2008, signed 7 April 2008, ratified 8 April 2008, entered into force 15 June 2008; amended 2013 (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President Atifete JAHJAGA (since 7 April 2011);
head of government: Prime Minister Hashim THACI (since 9 January 2008)
cabinet: ministers; elected by the Kosovo Assembly
elections: the president is elected for a five-year term by the Kosovo Assembly; election last held on 7 April 2011; note - the prime minister elected by the Kosovo Assembly
election results: Atifete JAHJAGA elected president in one round; Atifete JAHJAGA 80 votes, Suzana NOVOBERDALIU 10 votes; Hashim THACI reelected prime minister by the Assembly
Flag descriptioncentered on a dark blue field is the geographical shape of Kosovo in a gold color surmounted by six white, five-pointed stars arrayed in a slight arc; each star represents one of the major ethnic groups of Kosovo: Albanians, Serbs, Turks, Gorani, Roma, and Bosniaks
Independence17 February 2008 (from Serbia)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court (consists of the court president and at least 15 percent of judges to reflect Kosovo's territorial ethnic composition); Constitutional Court (consists of the court president, vice president, and 7 judges)
note - Kosovo initiated a new judicial system in January 2013
judge selection and term of office: Supreme Court judges nominated by the Kosovo Judicial Council, an independent body staffed by judges and lay members, and also responsible for overall administration of Kosovo's judicial system; judges appointed by the president of the Republic of Kosovo; judges appointed until mandatory retirement age; Constitutional Court members nominated by the Kosovo Assembly and appointed by the president of the republic to serve single, 9-year terms
subordinate courts: Court of Appeals (organized into 4 departments: General, Serious Crime, Commercial Matters), and Administrative Matters; Basic Court (located in 9 municipalities, each with several branches)
Legal systemevolving legal system; mixture of applicable Kosovo law, UNMIK laws and regulations, and applicable laws of the Former Socialist Republic of Yugoslavia that were in effect in Kosovo as of 22 March 1989
Legislative branchunicameral national Assembly (120 seats; 100 seats directly elected, 10 seats guaranteed for ethnic Serbs, 10 seats guaranteed for other ethnic minorities; members to serve three-year terms)
elections: last held on 8 June 2014 (next expected to be held in June 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party/coalition - PDK/PD/LB/PSHDK/PK 30.7%, LDK 25.6%, VV 13.5%, AAK 9.6%, NISMA 5.2%, AKR 4.7%, SLKM 4.2%, 1.0%, other 5,5%; seats by party/coalition - NA (results are preliminary)
International organization participationIBRD, IDA, IFC, IMF, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA
National holidayIndependence Day, 17 February (2008)
Political pressure groups and leadersCouncil for the Defense of Human Rights and Freedom (human rights)
Organization for Democracy, Anti-Corruption and Dignity Rise! (Avni ZOGIANI)
Serb National Council (SNV)
The Speak Up Movement (Ramadan ILAZI)
Political parties and leadersAlbanian Christian Democratic Party of Kosovo or PSHDK (Uke BERISHA)
Alliance for a New Kosovo or AKR (Behgjet PACOLLI)
Alliance for the Future of Kosovo or AAK (Ramush HARADINAJ)
Ashkali Party for Integration or PAI
Bosniak Party of Democratic Action of Kosovo or BSDAK
Citizens' Initiative of Gora or GIG (Murselj HALJILJI)
Civic Initiative for Kosovo or NISMA (Fatmir LIMAJ)
Conservative Party of Kosovo or PK (Munir BASHA)
Democratic Action Party or SDA (Numan BALIC)
Democratic League of Dardania or LDD (Nexhat DACI)
Democratic League of Kosovo or LDK (Isa MUSTAFA)
Democratic Party of Ashkali of Kosovo or PDAK (Berat QERIMI)
Democratic Party of Kosovo or PDK (Hashim THACI)
Independent Liberal Party or SLS (Slobadan PETROVIC)
Justice Party of Kosovo or PD (formerly part of the Coalition for New Kosovo or KKR) (Ferid AGANI)
Kosovo Democratic Turkish Party or KDTP (Mahir YAGCILAR)
Movement for Self-Determination (Vetevendosje) or VV (Albin KURTI)
Movement for Unification or LB (Avni KLINAKU)
National Democratic Party of Albania or PNDSH (Bujar ABDULLAHU)
New Democratic Initiative of Kosovo or IRDK (Xhevdet NEZIRAJ)
New Democratic Party or NDS (Predrag JOVIC)
Serb People's Party or SNS (Mihailo SCEPANOVIC)
Serb People's Party of Kosovo or SNPK
Serbian Democratic Party of Kosovo and Metohija or SDSKiM (Sasa DJOKIC)
Serbian Kosovo and Metohija Party or SKMS (Dragisa MIRIC)
Serbian List (Aleksandar JABLANOVIC)
Serbian National Council of Northern Kosovo and Metohija or SNV (Milan IVANOVIC)
Serbian Social Democratic Party or SSDS
Social Democratic Party of Kosovo or PSDK
Socialist Party of Kosovo or PSK (Ilaz KADOLLI)
Turkish Democratic Party of Kosovo or KDTP (Mahir YAGCILAR)
Union of Independent Social Democrats of Kosovo and Metohija or SNSKiM (Ljubisa ZIVIC)
United Roma Party of Kosovo or PREBK (Haxhi Zylfi MERXHA)
United Serb List or JSL
Vakat Coalition or VAKAT (Sadik IDRIZI)
a coalition formed for the 2014 parliamentary elections included, the PDK, PD, LB, PSHDK, and PK
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typerepublic
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Akan ISMAILI (since 23 April 2012)
chancery: 1101 30th Street NW, Suites 330/340, Washington, DC 20007
telephone: 202-380-3581
FAX: 202-380-3628
consulate(s) general: New York
National anthemname: "Europe"
lyrics/music: none/Mendi MENGJIQI
note: adopted 2008; Kosovo chose to not include lyrics in its anthem so as not to offend minority ethnic groups in the country
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Ambassador Tracey Ann JACOBSON (since 26 July 2012)
embassy: Arberia/Dragodan, Nazim Hikmet 30, Pristina, Kosovo
mailing address: use embassy street address
telephone: (381) 38 59 59 3000
FAX: (381) 38 549 890