unbekannter Gast

Macau: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Macau Special Administrative Region
conventional short form: Macau
official long form: Aomen Tebie Xingzhengqu (Chinese); Regiao Administrativa Especial de Macau (Portuguese)
official short form: Aomen (Chinese); Macau (Portuguese)
Dependency statusspecial administrative region of the People's Republic of China
Administrative divisionsnone (special administrative region of the People's Republic of China)
Constitutionprevious 1976 (Organic Statute of Macau, by Portugal); latest adopted 31 March 1993, effective 20 December 1999 (Basic Law of the Macau Special Administrative Region, by the People's Republic of China, serves as Macau's constitution) (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President of China XI Jinping (since 14 March 2013)
head of government: Chief Executive Fernando CHUI Sai On (since 20 December 2009)
cabinet: Executive Council consists of 1 government secretary, 3 legislators, 4 businessmen, 2 pro-Beijing unionists, and 1 professional
elections: chief executive chosen by a 400-member Election Committee for a five-year term (current chief executive is eligible for a second term); election last held on 26 July 2009 (next to be held in August 2014)
note: the Legislative Assembly voted in August 2012 to expand the electoral committee from 300 to 400 seats for the 2014 election.
election results: Fernando CHUI Sai On elected with 282 votes and took office on 20 December 2009
Flag descriptiongreen with a lotus flower above a stylized bridge and water in white, beneath an arc of five gold, five-pointed stars: one large in the center of the arc and two smaller on either side; the lotus is the floral emblem of Macau, the three petals represent the peninsula and two islands that make up Macau; the five stars echo those on the flag of China
Independencenone (special administrative region of China)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Court of Final Appeal of Macau Special Administrative Region (consists of the court president and 2 associate justices)
judge selection and term of office: justices appointed by the Macau chief executive upon the recommendation of an independent commission of judges, lawyers, and "eminent" persons; judge tenure NA
subordinate courts: Court of Second Instance; Court of First instance; Lower Court; Administrative Court
Legal systemcivil law system based on the Portuguese model
Legislative branchunicameral Legislative Assembly (33 seats; 14 geographical constituency seats elected by popular vote, 12 functional constituency seats elected by indirect vote, and 7 seats appointed by the chief executive; members serve four-year terms)
elections: last held on 15 September 2013 (next to be held in September 2017)
election results: percent of vote - ACUM 18.0%, UMG 11.1%, UPP 10.8%, NE 9.0%, NUDM 8.9%, UPD 8.2%, APMD 7.5%, ANMD 6.0%, APM 6.0%, others 14.5%; seats by political group - ACUM 3, UMG 2, UPP 2, NE 2, NUDM 1, UPD 1, APMD 1, ANMD 1, APM 1; 12 seats filled by professional and business groups; 7 members appointed by the chief executive
International organization participationICC (national committees), IHO, IMF, IMO (associate), Interpol (subbureau), ISO (correspondent), UNESCO (associate), UNWTO (associate), UPU, WCO, WTO
National holidayNational Day (anniversary of the Founding of the People's Republic of China), 1 October (1949); note - 20 December 1999 is celebrated as Macau Special Administrative Region Establishment Day
Political pressure groups and leadersCivic Power (Agnes LAM lok-fong)
Democratic Action (LEE Kin-yun)
Bar-Bending Workers' Association (WONG Wai-Man)
Macau New Chinese Youth Association (LEONG Sin-man)
Macau Worker's Union (HO Heng-kuok)
New Macau Association (Antonio NG Kuok-cheong)
Workers' Self-Help Union (CHEONG Weng-fat)
Political parties and leadersAlliance for Change or APM (Melinda CHAN Mei-yi)
Macau-Guangdong Union or UMG (MAK Soi-kun)
New Democratic Macau Association or ANMD (an electoral list of New Macau Association (Jason CHAO Teng-hei)
New Hope or NE (Jose Maria Pereira COUTINHO)
New Macau Association or AMN (Jason CHAO Teng-hei)
New Union for Macau's Development or NUDM (Angela LEONG On-kei)
Prosperous Democratic Macau Association or APMD (an electoral list of New Macau Association (Jason CHAO Teng-hei)
Union for Development or UPD (KWAN Tsui-hang)
Union for Promoting Progress or UPP (HO Ion-sang)
United Citizens Association of Macau or ACUM (CHAN Meng-kam)
note: there is no political party ordinance, so there are no registered political parties; politically active groups register as societies or companies
Suffrage18 years of age in direct elections for some legislative positions, universal for permanent residents living in Macau for the past seven years; note - indirect elections are limited to organizations registered as "corporate voters" (973 were registered in the 2009 legislative elections) and a 400-member Election Committee for the Chief Executive drawn from broad regional groupings, municipal organizations, central government bodies, and elected Macau officials
Government typelimited democracy
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (Special Administrative Region of China)
National anthemnote: as a Special Administrative Region of China, "Yiyongjun Jinxingqu" is the official anthem (see China)
National symbol(s)lotus blossom
Diplomatic representation from the USthe US has no offices in Macau; US Consulate General in Hong Kong, currently Consul General Clifford A. HART Jr., is accredited to Macau