unbekannter Gast

New Caledonia: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Territory of New Caledonia and Dependencies
conventional short form: New Caledonia
local long form: Territoire des Nouvelle-Caledonie et Dependances
local short form: Nouvelle-Caledonie
CapitalNoumea Noumea
geographic coordinates: 22 16 S, 166 27 E
time difference: UTC+11 (16 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
Dependency statusterritorial collectivity (or a sui generis collectivity) of France since 1998
Administrative divisionsnone (overseas territory of France); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are three provinces named Province des Iles, Province Nord, and Province Sud
Constitution4 October 1958 (French Constitution with changes as reflected in Noumea Accord of 5 May 1998) (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President Francois HOLLANDE (since 15 May 2012); represented by High Commissioner Jean-Jacques BROT (since 2 February 2013)
head of government: President of the Government Harold MARTIN (since 3 March 2011); note - since 3 March 2011, three different governments of Harold MARTIN have collapsed over the choice of a flag that will be used while it is being decolonized; President Harold MARTIN is head of a caretaker government
cabinet: Cabinet consists of 11 members elected from and by the Territorial Congress
elections: French president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; high commissioner appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of Interior; president of the government elected by the Territorial Congress for a five-year term (no term limits); note - last election held on 10 June 2011 (next to be held in June 2016)
Flag descriptionthe flag of France is used
Independencenone (overseas territory of France); note - a referendum on independence was held in 1998 but was rejected; a new referendum is scheduled between 2014 and 2018
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Court of Appeal in Noumea or Cour d'Appel (the highest local judicial court; organized into civil, commercial, social, and pre-trial investigation chambers; number of judges NA); Conseil d'Etat (the highest local administrative court; number of judges NA)
note - final appeals are heard before the Court of Cassation or Cour de Cassation, in Paris
judge selection and term of office: NA
subordinate courts: Courts of First Instance include: civil, juvenile, commercial, labor, police, criminal, Assizes, and also a pre-trial investigation chamber; Joint Commerce Tribunal; administrative courts
Legal systemcivil law system based on French law; note - the 1988 Matignon Accords (signed in the Matignon Hotel) set up a 10-year period of development during which the Kanak community received substantial autonomy but agreed not to raise the independece issue
Legislative branchunicameral Territorial Congress or Congres du territoire (54 seats; members belong to the three Provincial Assemblies, or Assemblees Provinciales, elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 11 May 2014 (next to be held on May 2019)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - L'Avenir Ensemble 13, UMP 7, FLINKS 9, Union for Caledonia in France 6, Build Our Rainbow Nation 6, other 7
note: the Customary Senate is the assembly of the various traditional councils of the Kanaks, the indigenous population, which rules on laws affecting the indigenous population; New Caledonia holds two seats in the French Senate; elections last held on 21 September 2008 (next to be held not later than September 2014); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UMP 2; New Caledonia also elects two seats to the French National Assembly; elections last held on 17 June 2012 (next to be held by June 2017); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UMP 2
International organization participationPIF (associate member), SPC, UPU, WFTU (NGOs)
National holidayFete de la Federation, 14 July (1789); note - the local holiday is New Caledonia Day, 24 September (1853)
Political pressure groups and leadersNA
Political parties and leadersBuild Our Rainbow Nation
Caledonia Together (Philippe GOMES)
Caledonian Union or UC (Daniel GOA)
Front National or FN (Marine LE PEN)
Future Together (l'Avenir Ensemble) (Harold MARTIN)
Kanak Socialist Front for National Liberation or FLNKS (includes PALIKA, UNI, UC, and UPM)
Labor Party (Labor Party) (Louis Kotra UREGEI)
National Union for Independence (Union Nationale pour l'Independance) or UNI
Parti de Liberation Kanak or PALIKA (Paul NEAOUTYINE)
Progressive Melanesian Union (Union Progressiste Mellanesienne) or UPM
Socialist Group (Jean Pierre BEL)
Socialist Kanak Liberation or LKS (Nidoish NAISSELINE)
The Future Together or AE (Harold MARTIN)
The Rally or UMP (Pierre GROGIER)
Union for Caledonia in France
Union of Pro-Independence Co-operation Committees (Francois BURCK)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeparliamentary representative democracy
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas territory of France)
National anthemname: "Soyons unis, devenons freres" (Let Us Be United, Let Us Become Brothers)
lyrics/music: Chorale Melodia (a local choir)
note: adopted 2008; the anthem contains a mixture of lyrics in both French and Nengone (an indigenous language); as a self-governing territory of France, in addition to the local anthem, "La Marseillaise" is official (see France)
National symbol(s)kagu bird
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (overseas territory of France)