unbekannter Gast

Norfolk Island: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Territory of Norfolk Island
conventional short form: Norfolk Island
CapitalKingston Kingston
geographic coordinates: 29 03 S, 167 58 E
time difference: UTC+11.5 (16.5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Dependency statusself-governing territory of Australia; administered from Canberra by the Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport
Administrative divisionsnone (territory of Australia)
Constitutionprevious 1913, 1957; latest effective 7 August 1979; amended many times, last in 2010 (2011)
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by the Australian governor general
head of government: Administrator Neil POPE (since 1 April 2012)
cabinet: Executive Council made up of 4 of the 9 members of the Legislative Assembly; the council devises government policy and acts as an advisor to the administrator
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; administrator appointed by the governor general of Australia for a two year term and represents the monarch and Australia
Flag descriptionthree vertical bands of green (hoist side), white, and green with a large green Norfolk Island pine tree centered in the slightly wider white band; green stands for the rich vegetation on the island, and the pine tree - endemic to the island - is a symbol of Norfolk Island
note: somewhat reminiscent of the flag of Canada with its use of only two colors and depiction of a prominent local floral symbol in the central white band
Independencenone (territory of Australia)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court of Norfolk Island (consists of the chief justice and NA justices)
note - appeals beyond the Supreme Court of Norfolk Island are heard by the Federal Court of Australia
judge selection and term of office: justices appointed by the governor general of Australia from among justices of the Federal Court of Australia; justices serve until mandatory retirement at age 70
subordinate courts: Petty Court of Sessions; specialized courts including a Coroner's Court and the Employment Tribunal
Legal systemEnglish common law and the laws of Australia
Legislative branchunicameral Legislative Assembly (9 seats; members elected by electors who have nine equal votes each but only four votes can be given to any one candidate; members to serve three-year terms)
elections: last held on 13 March 2013 (next to be held in 2016)
election results: seats - independents 8; Norfolk Liberals 1
International organization participationUPU
National holidayBounty Day (commemorates the arrival of Pitcairn Islanders), 8 June (1856)
Political pressure groups and leadersnone
Political parties and leadersNorfolk Island Labor Party (Mike KELLY)
Norfolk Liberals (John BROWN)
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeNA
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (territory of Australia)
National anthemname: "Come Ye Blessed"
lyrics/music: New Testament/John Prindle SCOTT
note: the local anthem, whose lyrics consist of the words from Matthew 25:34-36, 40, is also known as "The Pitcairn Anthem;" as a territory of Australia, "God Save the Queen" is official (see Australia), however, the island does not recognize "Advance Australia Fair"
National symbol(s)Norfolk Island pine
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (territory of Australia)