unbekannter Gast

Saint Barthelemy: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Overseas Collectivity of Saint Barthelemy
conventional short form: Saint Barthelemy
local long form: Collectivite d'outre mer de Saint-Barthelemy
local short form: Saint-Barthelemy
abbreviation: Saint-Barth (French); St. Barts or St. Barths (English)
CapitalGustavia Gustavia
geographic coordinates: 17 53 N, 62 51 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Dependency statusoverseas collectivity of France
Constitution4 October 1958 (French Constitution) (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President Francois HOLLANDE (since 15 May 2012), represented by Prefect Philippe CHOPIN (since 16 November 2011)
head of government: President of the Territorial Council Bruno MAGRAS (since 16 July 2007)
cabinet: Executive Council; note - there is also an advisory, economic, social, and cultural council
elections: French president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; prefect appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of Interior; president of the Territorial Council elected by the members of the Council for a five-year term; election last held on 16 July 2007 (next to be held in 2012)
election results: Bruno MAGRAS unanimously elected president by the Territorial Council
Flag descriptionthe flag of France is used
Independencenone (overseas collectivity of France)
Legal systemFrench civil law
Legislative branchunicameral Territorial Council (19 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held on 18 March 2012 (next to be held in July 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party - SBA 73.8%, Ensemble pour Saint-Barthelemy 15.9%, Tous Unis pour Saint-Barthelemy 10.3%; seats by party - SBA 16, Ensemble pour Saint-Barthelemy 2, Tous Unis pour Saint-Barthelemy 1
note: Saint Barthelemy elects one seat to the French Senate; election last held on 21 September 2008 (next to be held in September 2014); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UMP 1; one seat (shared with Saint Martin) was elected to the French National Assembly on 17 June 1012 (next to be held by June 2017); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UMP 1
International organization participationUPU
National holidayFete de la Federation, 14 July (1789); note - local holiday is St. Barthelemy Day, 24 August (1572)
Political pressure groups and leadersThe Marine Reserve (protection of fish)
Rotary Club
Political parties and leadersAction-Equilibre-Transparence (Maxime DESOUCHES)
Ensemble pour Saint-Barthelemy (Benoit CHAUVIN)
Saint-Barth d'Abord! or SBA (Bruno MAGRAS)
Tous Unis pour Saint-Barthelemy (Karine MIOT-RICHARD)
Suffrage18 years of age, universal
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas collectivity of France)
National anthemname: "L'Hymne a St. Barthelemy" (Hymn to St. Barthelemy)
lyrics/music: Isabelle Massart DERAVIN/Michael VALENTI
note: local anthem in use since 1999; as a collectivity of France, "La Marseillaise" is official (see France)
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (overseas collectivity of France)