Saint Pierre and Miquelon: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Territorial Collectivity of Saint Pierre and Miquelon
conventional short form: Saint Pierre and Miquelon
local long form: Departement de Saint-Pierre et Miquelon
local short form: Saint-Pierre et Miquelon
CapitalSaint-Pierre Saint-Pierre
geographic coordinates: 46 46 N, 56 11 W
time difference: UTC-3 (2 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins second Sunday in March; ends first Sunday in November
Dependency statusself-governing territorial overseas collectivity of France
Administrative divisionsnone (territorial overseas collectivity of France); note - there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are two communes at the second order - Saint Pierre, Miquelon
Constitution4 October 1958 (French Constitution) (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President Francois HOLLANDE (since 15 May 2012); represented by Prefect Patrice LATRON (since 16 November 2011)
head of government: President of the Territorial Council Stephane ARTANO (since 21 February 2007)
cabinet: NA
elections: French president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held on 6 May 2012 (next to be held in 2017); prefect appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of Interior; president of the Territorial Council elected by the members of the council
Flag descriptiona yellow three-masted sailing ship facing the hoist side rides on a blue background with scattered, white, wavy lines under the ship; a continuous black-over-white wavy line divides the ship from the white wavy lines; on the hoist side, a vertical band is divided into three parts: the top part (called ikkurina) is red with a green diagonal cross extending to the corners overlaid by a white cross dividing the rectangle into four sections; the middle part has a white background with an ermine pattern; the third part has a red background with two stylized yellow lions outlined in black, one above the other; these three heraldic arms represent settlement by colonists from the Basque Country (top), Brittany, and Normandy; the blue on the main portion of the flag symbolizes the Atlantic Ocean and the stylized ship represents the Grande Hermine in which Jacques Cartier "discovered" the islands in 1536
note: the flag of France used for official occasions
Independencenone (territorial collectivity of France; has been under French control since 1763)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Superior Tribunal of Appeals or Tribunal Superieur d'Appel (composition NA)
judge selection and term of office: judge selection and tenure NA
subordinate courts: NA
Legal systemFrench civil law
Legislative branchunicameral Territorial Council or Conseil Territorial (19 seats, 15 from Saint Pierre and 4 from Miquelon; members elected by popular vote to serve six-year terms)
elections: elections last held on 18 March 2012 (next to be held in March 2018)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NA
note: Saint Pierre and Miquelon elect one member to the French Senate; elections last held on 21 September 2008 (next to be held in September 2014); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UMP 1; Saint Pierre and Miquelon also elects one member to the French National Assembly; elections last held on 17 June 2012 (next to be held by June 2017); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PRG 1
International organization participationUPU, WFTU (NGOs)
National holidayFete de la Federation, 14 July (1789)
Political pressure groups and leadersNA
Political parties and leadersArchipelago Tomorrow or AD (affiliated with UDF/RPR list)
Cap sur l'Avenir (affiliated with PRG)
Left Radical Party or PRG
Rassemblement pour la Republique or RPR (now UMP)
Saint Pierre and Miquelon 2000/Avenir Miquelon or SPM 2000/AM
Socialist Party or PS
Union pour la Democratie Francaise or UDF
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Government typeparliamentary representative democracy
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (territorial overseas collectivity of France)
National anthemnote: as a collectivity of France, "La Marseillaise" is official (see France)
National symbol(s)16th-century sailing ship
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (territorial overseas collectivity of France)