unbekannter Gast

Svalbard: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Svalbard (sometimes referred to as Spitsbergen)
CapitalLongyearbyen Longyearbyen
geographic coordinates: 78 13 N, 15 38 E
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Dependency statusterritory of Norway; administered by the Polar Department of the Ministry of Justice, through a governor (sysselmann) residing in Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen; by treaty (9 February 1920) sovereignty was awarded to Norway
Executive branchchief of state: King HARALD V of Norway (since 17 January 1991)
head of government: Governor Odd Olsen INGERO (since September 2009); Assistant Governor Lars Erik ALHEIM
elections: none; the monarchy is hereditary; governor and assistant governor responsible to the Polar Department of the Ministry of Justice
Flag descriptionthe flag of Norway is used
Independencenone (territory of Norway)
Legal systemthe laws of Norway where applicable apply
International organization participationnone
Political pressure groups and leadersNA
Government typeNA
National anthemnote: as a territory of Norway, "Ja, vi elsker dette landet" is official (see Norway)