unbekannter Gast

Nauru: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Republic of Nauru
conventional short form: Nauru
local long form: Republic of Nauru
local short form: Nauru
former: Pleasant Island
Administrative divisions14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren
Constitutioneffective 29 January 1968; amended 1968, 2009; note - in early 2013, further amendments were introduced (2013)
Executive branchchief of state: President Baron WAQA (since 11 June 2013); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government
head of government: President Baron WAQA (since 11 June 2013)
cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among members of Parliament
elections: president elected by Parliament for a three-year term; election last held on 11 June 2013 (next to be held in 2016)
election results: Baron WAQA elected president on 11 June 2013
Flag descriptionblue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; blue stands for the Pacific Ocean, the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru
Independence31 January 1968 (from the Australia-, NZ-, and UK-administered UN trusteeship)
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court (consists of a chief justice and 1 judge)
judge selection and term of office: judges appointed by the president to serve until age 65
subordinate courts: District Court, Family Court
Legal systemmixed legal system of common law based on the English model and customary law
Legislative branchunicameral parliament (19 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms)
elections: last held on 8 June 2013 (next to be held in 2016)
election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - independents 19
International organization participationACP, ADB, AOSIS, C, FAO, G-77, ICAO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, OPCW, PIF, Sparteca, SPC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WHO
National holidayIndependence Day, 31 January (1968)
Political pressure groups and leadersWoman Information and News Agency (women's issues)
Political parties and leadersDemocratic Party (Kennan ADEANG)
Nauru First (Naoero Amo) Party
Nauru Party (informal)
note: loose multiparty system
Suffrage20 years of age; universal and compulsory
Government typerepublic
Diplomatic representation in the USchief of mission: Ambassador Marlene Inemwin MOSES (since 10 February 2006)
chancery: 800 2nd Avenue, Suite 400 D, New York, NY 10017
telephone: (1) (212) 937-0074
FAX: (1) (212) 937-0079
consulate(s): Agana (Guam)
National anthemname: "Nauru Bwiema" (Song of Nauru)
lyrics/music: Margaret HENDRIE/Laurence Henry HICKS
note: adopted 1968
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
Diplomatic representation from the USthe US does not have an embassy in Nauru; the US Ambassador to Fiji, currently Ambassador Frankie A. REED, is accredited to Nauru